Beauty Tips and Tricks from Fashion Designer Rachel Roy

From an intern at Rocawear to a successful fashion designer, Rachel Roy has definitely made a name for herself!  Rachel Roy New York is four collections strong, including the the Rachel Rachel Roy collection that launched this past August.  Celebs like Eva Mendes, Kate Hudson, and  Iman have rocked Rachel’s clothing.  Even Michelle Obama sported a Rachel Roy dress in San Francisco this past summer!  If you are feeling her clothes as much as I am, you could agree that she does have plenty of style!  You would also agree that if you are wearing a stunning outfit, your face and skin have to be equally on point!  So it was awesome to have Rachel dish on her beauty tricks and favorite products!

 

MJ:  Part of having a fresh look is having fresh and healthy skin. What is your skin care regimen

RR:  The best thing I do for my face, skin, and body is drink as much water as I can when I wake up. I also like to use Pat Wexler’s Oil Free Hydrator with SPF 30.  

MJ:   A girl’s day can get really hectic and we have to look good while we run around like crazy people!  How do you keep your make-up looking fresh all day? What tips can give a girl who wants to look great but is pressed for time? 

RR:  My big thing is mascara – it wakes up the face and rejuvenates tired puffy eyes. My favorite right now is Turbo Lash by Estee Lauder that has a battery in the wand that vibrates and gets my lashes to their fullest potential. If I can’t do anything else, that is the one thing I make sure to do. 
MJ:  Have you picked up any great beauty tips or tricks that you can share? 

RR:  I feel a great mascara can open the eye and instantly make you look as though you’ve have a good night’s sleep, even when that is not the case.  I use 2-3 coats of Lancome’s Fatale on the top, bottom, and also on the back of the top lashes.

MJ:  What tips can you give to the makeup minimalist?  What are the must have make-up products she should have in her cosmetic bag? 

RR:  Mascara is important.  I carry a small tub of Nivea hand cream for dry hands or hair. I also carry my black Fresh eyeliner. A hydrated lip is important.  I use Vaselina Gal Collection. It’s from Madrid and I use it in the peach. That is enough if you are a minimalist!   

MJ:   Do you have a beauty signature? A fragrance or a lip color that you just love to wear?

RR: Because of my Indian ancestry, I love darkly rimmed eyes – a messy eye adds a sexy yet natural look to a classic outfit.  To make the eyes smoky, I use Revlon’s Luxurious Color Kohl eyeliner in Black Truffle on the inside of the lids.

MJ:   What about a lip color that you just love to wear? What do you put on to achieve your favorite look?

RR: Bright lipstick is a way to quickly pop an outfit and freshen up a look a la Ava Gardner in “The Barefoot Contessa.”  My favorite bright is MAC’s Morange lipstick – it’s a great way to add a twist to a classic look.

MJ:   Any last bits of advice?

RR: Another way to make your face pop is to fill in the eyebrows.  I use Bobbi Brown’s eye shadow in Navajo.

I want to give a big thank you to Rachel for sharing these great tips with us!

Be Beautiful Ladies!

Need more celeb he say, she say?

Patrick “McDreamy” Dempsey talks about PD2 in this exclusive interview

Reese Witherspoon talks about her inspiration with In Bloom

 Photos courtesy of : Rachel Roy New York

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

