Traveling from Coast to Coast

Between working a full time job, keeping you ladies updated on my blog, and finishing up my novel, you girl was STRESSED!  My husband was feeling the same way and we made a great escape last week for a few days.  Our first stop was Pensacola, Florida, a tough ten hour drive to escape civilzation.  Though the drive was brutal (I was made to fly not drive! LOL), when we finally got up there it was a sigh of relief.  Driving I-10 literally through the Gulf waters was breath-taking and I felt like I could finally breathe.  I unplugged from my social media vices, left the blog on autopilot, and let the emails go unanswered!  Your girl was on vacation!

After driving by beach houses on ten-foot stilts I made it to the shore.  The sand was crystal white and the water was an awesome blue green.  I dug my toes in the sand and wet my feet in the now clean waters.  I was able to capture awesome shots of the sun setting and I couldn’t imagine being in a more perfect place.

Next stop was Jacksonville, a five hour drive on I-10 through hills of lush green fields, tall trees, and pastures of cows, goats, and horses.  Soon the huge city of Jacksonville opened up.  If you want the urban life, head downtown.  If you’re still looking for country living, just head out to the suburbs on the other side of the St. John’s River.  And oh, I had to include the photos of the food my awesome father in law cooked for us when we arrived!

Final stop was St. Augustine, just 30 minutes outside of Jacksonville.  As soon as we exited the highway, the St. Augustine Outlet mall  was there with open arms, so you know your girl had to snag her up some goodies!  These three pairs of shoes came home with me.  My husband had a field day with clothes! 

We ended the night with a Ghost Tour of the oldest town in the USA, including walking through the Old Jail, a frequent location for the show Ghost Hunters!  So much fun, and thankfully, I didn’t see any ghosts!

 

On our last day, we toured the old Spanish Fort, Castillo de San Marcos, which included a live demonstration of a cannon firing.  Totally cool, especially for a history nerd like me!  We then rode through the rest of this historic town.  The architecture was amazing!

 

I had an awesome time and came home more focused to get back in the swing of things – and plan the next vacation!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

