Friend Friday – Dealing with Negative Comments



Though blogging is such an awesome thing to do and the community you find yourself in can be filled with such positive energy, there are those times when we have to deal with insincere and just plain rude comments on our blogs.  Well that’s what we’re talking about on this week’s installment of Friend Friday.

If you would like to participate in Friend Friday, please visit Katy on Modly Chic for more details!

 

Do you allow comments on your blog? Why or why not?

I surely do because I love to engage my audience in conversation, discussion on certain topics, and get reader feedback.  I’ve gotten a lot of useful suggestions through my comments and I love to see what people have to say.

Do you think at times people leave comments that are insincere or not well thought out?

All the time!  I’ve gotten a few comments where people want me to go visit their site more than leaving sincere feedback.  What I’ve gotten a lot of, (not on this blog but my Yahoo! Shine one) are people are more concerned with grammatically correcting one small mistake rather than what I’m actually blogging about.  On a recent post I did here, I listed 4 types of skin and included a link back to my website to get the rest of the story.  Boy did I get a ton of comments stating that I left out so many other skin types on my blog post.  Had they simply saw the link at the bottom, they would have gotten the information they thought I missed.  I couldn’t help but be irritated at that!

Would you ever leave a comment that could be considered negative?

If I really feel strongly about a controversial topic and I disagree with the writer, then yes I would and I have.  Do I bash anyone?  No, of course not.  I remain as respectful and as courteous as I can when writing my dissenting opinion.

Most people claim to like constructive criticism. Do you really and how do you offer that kind of criticism to others?

I do although it may be tough to take at first.  I haven’t encountered it too much on my fashion blog, but when it comes to my novel writing I surely do.  As long as I get a solution to the potential problem that is presented to me I’m good!  Now if you’re just going to bash me and call me all sorts of crazy just because it feels good to you, I’m not down with that.

Some bloggers don’t allow comments in order to cut down on negativity. Do you think that is the way to go or are there other ways to deal with the negative vibes?

I think it depends on the situation.  I think the concept of Comment Moderation is great for weeding out the constructively negative comments from the just hateful and spiteful ones.  I think that’s the most effective way to deal with negative vibes.

How do you ladies deal with negative comments on your blogs?

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Wow! Must be some process getting feedback on writing a novel! Blog writing and comments must seem like a walk in the park next to that.
    Interesting experience you’ve talked about on answer to Q2 – it’s funny how some people filter out information given to them and zone in on picking faults.
    I’m fine with people disagreeing with me but as you say, do it in a respectful and courteous manner. I’ve got comment moderation on too for the same reasons.

    Reply
  2. I agree with so much of what you said, MJ. And I can’t believe people have time in their day to correct other people’s grammar. Sheesh!

    Happy weekend, honey!

    ♥ V
    http://www.gritandglamour.com
    twitter: @gritandglamour

    Reply
    • Girl its AMAZING how nitpicky they can be!

      Have a great weekend too girl! 🙂

      Reply
  3. I love your answers MJ! As for your answer to number 2, that must have been SO frustrating. That would have really bothered me! I also agree with you about comment moderation, it can work just to keep out the really bad comments that are hurtful etc.
    I love your reading your FFBF posts! 🙂
    -Tess

    Reply
    • It was frustrating and took a lot of restaint not to go off! But it was all good! You learn how to deal with it! And comment moderation is a beautiful thing!

      Aww thank you Tess! I’m glad you like them!

      Reply
  4. Hi there Ms. Fierce-

    My replies:

    1- Yes I offer comments

    2- No, I don’t get many comments that aren’t well thought out. 1 Here or there but very rare. I think that’s because most people commenting are other bloggers in the same industry and you know we all know the rules 🙂

    3- I totally agree with your reply on this one. If the negative comment will come off too offensive then I’ll just pass it by and not say anything though.

    4- I also agree with comment moderation. I think when a blog doesn’t allow comments, it significantly cuts out interactivity. You want other people to participate in the discussion because that drives readership, tweets, stumbles and other social promotion.

    Michelle

    P.S. have a great weekend! I love your Friend Fridays 🙂
    4-

    Reply
    • Your answers were great too! Thank you for always stopping by and leaving your awesome comments!

      Have a great weekend! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

