Friend Friday: Product Placement

Photo courtesy of The Huffington Post

This Friend Friday topic came out of a discussion we FBFF bloggers had over the Chilean Miners wearing Oakley Sunglasses when they rescued.  This brand definitely took advantage of the concept of product placement because this rescue was on every TV station for at least two days for all the world to see these miners wearing their shades.  So the awesome creator of Friend Friday, Katy from Modly Chic thought this would make a great Friend Friday topic!

As we watched the Chilean Miners being rescued last week, there were many things to take note of – the amazing faith of these people, the joy of life, love and family, and – interestingly enough – product placement. As you watched the rescue efforts did you notice the products? What were your thoughts?

The only products I noticed were the sunglasses that they all seemed to be wearing.  I didn’t give it too much thought because I was more concerned with the real story – an awesome rescue and these miners being reunited with their families.

 

Product placement is all around us today, what do you think makes it such a marketing gold mine?

Media makes product placement such a gold mine.  Before internet really took off companies had to rely on advertisements.  With the internet taking off now they have TV ads and online ads.  Now you have bloggers, online magazines, video channels like YouTube, and social media.  It’s a marketing gold mine because they are soo many options that brands have to advertise.

 

 

On your blog, either now or in the future, what is/will be your stance on highlighting specific products?

As a blogger, I have developed relationships with certain beauty and fashion brands. However, I don’t highlight them just to do so and just because I have a good relationship with them.  I only cover them if I personally like the product and/or had a chance to review it and give my own feedback.  For instance, I have a great relationship with Avon and Rachel Roy’s company.  However if I didn’t like the Avon product or I’m not feeling a Rachel Roy dress, I’m not going to cover it.

 

 

If the opportunity arose would you give a bad review of a product?

I have reviewed bad products before and I have given a not so favorable review every now and then.  If I don’t have at least one good thing to say (such as the packaging is cool) it doesn’t make the blog at all.  One I can remember off top was this eye cream from Avon.  Although I liked the day cream that I reviewed, that eye cream gave me a bad reaction and I had to talk about that.  I didn’t bash Avon or flat out said the product sucked, but rather gave the bad review as tactfully and as professionally as I could. 

I know some bloggers worry that if they say anything negative about product, especially if you received it for free, you would ruin your relationship with the brand.  I’ve gotten feedback from companies that they appreciated my honest review and still work them.

 

Do you view your blog as a product? Where have you or do you hope to place it?

I don’t view my blog as a product.  I view it as my online resume, the thing that establishes my name as a brand and gives me the credibility and experience I need to pursue my writing career.  If it were a product I was selling, I would place it in every fashion and beauty magazine, blog, and beauty aisle if I could!  It’s all about getting your product in the places where your target market will readily see it.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. i really liked the answer 2 the last question. very interesting xx

    Reply
  2. I don’t get sent anything to review so I review things as a consumer who has forked out to buy something – I think that relationship is different. I’m a customer exchanging cash for goods and services and my blog is about the clothes I’ve bought. If I’m not happy with what I’ve paid for I’ll probably say so and why.
    Interesting about you viewing your blog as your CV for your writing as opposed to a product! Hadn’t thought of that but makes complete sense.
    You must have great skin and a make up case to die for if you get lots of beauty products to review!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  October 23, 2010

      I definitely understand your view on the product reviewing. For my blog, I never plan on monetizing it because I just see it as the “work experience” I need to get the writing job that I want.

      I do get some great stuff but I still go out and buy stuff! Drives my husband crazy! LOL

      Reply
  3. I agree, when reviewing a product I didn’t like, I’d just stick to the facts and be honest about it.

    Kendra
    http://closetconfections.com

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  October 22, 2010

      Definitely. You have to be honest so your readers can trust what you write about

      Reply
  4. I agree about the reviews. If I was asked to review a product, I wouldn’t give a flat out negative review. I’d probably use the sandwich technique. “I really liked like the packaging, but the products has an odd odor. It still worked well in the end!”

    I think testing is SO important. If you try something once, it may be fine, but after a week, you may find it’s not that great. Length of testing adds credibility.

    Reply
    • You’re right, length of testing is VERY important! I usually test a product out for at least two weeks. Like you said, the first time may be great but after awhile – not so much!

      Reply
  5. I loved reading your thoughts! I totally agree with you on number 1, and also on number 3. I completely agree that if you don’t like something you receive, just don’t review it!
    -Tess

    Reply
    • Thank you! I know as a blogger you can be so torn when it comes to giving a bad review especially when you’re new at it because you feel like you would “lose” your relationship with a brand. However, you have to stay true to yourself and your readers – that trumps everything!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

