Friend Friday: All Natural

hubpages.com

  

Today’s Friend Friday topic is all about the growing trend of forgoing things like daily showers and shampooing and wearing deodorant or antiperspirants.  The NY Times wrote a very interesting article about it that you should definitely check out!

The move to do away with soap, shampoo and deodorant has been growing in popularity in the last year. What are your thoughts on this trend?

I think it’s a rather interesting trend.  I never realized it was a trend until some recent articles started pointing it out.  I think that some people can get away with it depending on their body makeup.  Other people,  like those who have a tendency to sweat more than others or have serious dandruff problems may not be able to get on this trend without drawing attention to themselves regarding their hygiene.  What also concerns me a little bit with this trend, especially when it comes to soap is the spread of colds and viruses.  We touch germ infested surfaces everyday and the chances of getting sick may be increased.

Be honest how often do you wash your own hair?

Because I have African American hair, I can only wash it once a week.  That’s because this type of textured hair is naturally dry, and if it’s processed (like mine is) even more dry so you have to be extra careful when it comes to washing it.  Besides, my hair washing is like a two hour event between shampooing, deep conditioning, blow drying, and moisturizing.  So thank goodness I can do that only once a week!

 

 

Have you tried to go the more natural route by forgoing shampoo?  What happened? Or would you be tempted to try it?

I’ve never went without the shampooing my hair more than two weeks.  I’ve used dry versions of shampoo when I had micro-braids in my hair back in the day.  Other than that, I wash it once a week. 

 

What products do you use and have you ever gone with more organic alternatives?

I use a lot of beauty products (more than I should probably) and that’s partly due to the fact I’m a beauty blogger!  But I definitely use the basics: facial cleansers, facial and body moisturizers, deodorant, shampoo and conditioners, styling products, and cosmetics.

I’ve tried (and sometimes use) sulfate free shampoo, conditioner, and body wash that I received for review.  I was pleasantly surprised with the results and ever so often include them in my beauty routine.  One organic alternative that didn’t go well was a brand of natural deodorant I tried out.  It didn’t do a thing for me!


What about that daily shower? Would you forgo that opting to shower three times a week instead?
Living in Florida where it’s really hot most of the year, I couldn’t do the three times a week thing.  You can walk from your car to the office building and be sweaty!  If I lived in a different climate, I may try it but down here, I don’t think it would fair too well.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. JTWisdom

     /  November 7, 2010

    Got to take baths and showers. Can’t do without deodorant.

    Reply
  2. i’m with you too on the daily showers. absolutely vital

    Reply
  3. Hey MJ, it’s funny how we all have a different view on the going natural thing.

    And you are so kind not to divulge the name of the organic brand that didn’t work for you. Not me! I told it all. My friend friday post is at http://www.freshradiantskin.com/blog/post/2804166

    Reply
  4. I definitely have a serious dandruff problem and probably would never consider going all natural just because my hair would get out of control. I consider washing my hair less “more natural” but definitely not “all natural” lol.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  November 5, 2010

      I agree. My hair is naturally dry so washing everyday doesn’t make sense, however it does need to be washed!

      Reply
  5. I’m with you on the showering…I can’t imagine not showering daily. Ick.

    ♥ V
    http://www.gritandglamour.com
    twitter: @gritandglamour

    Reply
  6. My first reaction was, hecckkkkks naw! However, it does depend on your body type and makeup. I have noticed, my daughter does not have to apply deoderant everyday to prevent becoming musty. I think this may be because she doesn’t eat meat. So………….if you can forego these hygiene practices for a few days, without offending others, go for it. *shrug*

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  November 5, 2010

      I mean if someone can go a day without showering and not smell, more power to them! However it all depends on your body makeup and what climate you live in too.

      Reply
  7. girl yeah, you’d be a HOT mess forgoing showers in Miami! Lord it was hot…hope that trend doesn’t catch on there for your sake, lmao

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  November 5, 2010

      Honey who are you tellin??!! I pray it doesn’t catch on down here! LOL

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

