Friend Friday: Blogger Burn Out

Pensacola Beach where I escaped Blogger Burnout

Hey Ladies!  Life took an unexpected turn last Friday, but I’m back and ready for this week’s questions.

How many hours a week do you spend blogging? Has that number changed since you started blogging?

Wow, I never really sat down to really think about it!  Well if you include sending and answering blog related emails, reviewing products, working on my editorial calendar, taking photos, transcribing interviews if I have any, and sitting down to actually write my blog posts for the week, I would say that I spend around 10 to 15 hours a week.  That includes this blog, my writing blog, and the blogs I contribute to (Yahoo! Shine, Perfect Wedding Guide, and Visual Adjectives)

That number has changed dramatically since I started blogging a year ago.  When I first started I was very disorganized with my time.  I was scrambling to find something to blog about and didn’t quite have the hang of using WordPress when it came to formatting, posting etc.  I was driving myself crazy!  Granted, I only had this blog to worry about, but I was spending just as much time as I do now.  So I took a step back and took some measures to make blogging easier and being fun again. With the time I freed up with this blog, I was able to start contributing to other blogs I mentioned.

Now I’m super organized with my calendar, scheduling and writing posts ahead of time, (usually on Sundays).  My blogs automatically post on twitter and Facebook, which is also a huge timesaver!  I put all of my unread emails in a folder that I take an hour or two during the week to sort through and answer.  I also just discovered Social Oomph (I know I’m late!) so I’m using that to schedule tweets if need be.
There is always more you can do, write, read, comment on… how do you limit your time spent on these tasks?

Well now I’m a lot more organized and managing more than this blog (as well as a day job) I have to be crazy disciplined when it comes to my time.  I do the bulk of my blogging work on the weekends so I have time during the week to read and comment on other blogs, get on twitter, answer emails, and all those other little blogging things.  It also leaves time for me to spend with my husband and family as well as work the day job (bills gotta get paid!).

 

Have you experienced Blogger burnout yet? How have you dealt with that?

Yes I have and not too long ago either.  There was a time I was posting a few times a day, managing too many stories from PR agencies, and overall feeling the pressure to cover everything!  Blogging started to become a chore and to me that’s not what writing is all about.  I had to realize that I was in charge of the blog and I wasn’t going to have my blog run me. 

So I just took a big step back.  I took a few days off and went on vacation (with my phone in the trunk so I wouldn’t be tempted to do anything blog related).  I came back so much more refreshed and vowed that I wouldn’t over do it with blog posts and not feel that blogging guilt (that’s what I call it anyway) about not being able to cover anything that comes my way.  I cut down on the number of posts a week and only covered those things I really, really wanted to.  Though I’m blogging for me than just this blog now, I’m better at knowing just how much I can handle (instead of trying to be superwoman and do it all!).

  

This time of the year is always a lot busier than any other time. Will your blogging change as a result?
I don’t think my blog will change too much because I pre-plan, pre-write, and schedule pretty much all of my blog posts ahead of time.  Last month, I planned out my editorial calendar for December, allowing days off for the holidays.  My holiday time is already carved out so if anything, there may be a few weekly features I may not do and there won’t be a post every single day.

 

Could you foresee a moment in which you are not blogging anymore? How would you identify that it’s time to walk away?

I don’t see myself leaving my blog anytime soon because it is such a big (and fun) part of my life right now.  Because of this blog I’ve met incredible people and offered opportunities that I wouldn’t have otherwise.  Fierce is a big reason why I changed career paths to pursue writing as a full time job so I want it to run as long as possible.  However, I also understand that things always come to end and the way I would see ending this blog would be that I achieved my goal of writing full time.  I would see myself shutting Fierce down when I either get a job writing/blogging full time for a magazine or my novels totally take off and I have absolutely no time to tend to my blog as I need to, No matter how much I love this little piece of blogosphere, I will let it go if it would jeopardize my ultimate dream of being a professional writer.

What about you?  How much time do you spend blogging?  Do you see yourself shutting down your blog? If so, when do you know it’s the right time?

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Good for you for taking a break and queuing up posts in advance! I’m glad you’ve found a happy medium!

    ♥ V
    http://www.gritandglamour.com
    twitter: @gritandglamour

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  December 6, 2010

      Thank you! I plan on taking a few more time outs next year before the burn out has a chance to sink in!

      Reply
  2. Ok, I worked as a full time freelancer for years and still manage a pretty aggressive freelance/blogging schedule with a full time job but I don’t think in my ultra, most-organized weeks I could cut all my blogging time down to 15 hours, especially not for so many blogs. You are amazing!! – Katy

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  December 6, 2010

      Thank you! Though I plan on doing a bit more with the blog next year, I still want to keep those same type of hours. (fingers crossed!)

      Reply
  3. Can I just say that I am jealous of your organizational skills? I keep wanting to schedule my posts like you described, but I can only manage to get 1 or 2 pre-posted like that, if any!

    Great answers, MJ. Taking a vacation and stepping back is the best way to combat any type of burnout!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  December 3, 2010

      I must thank my mom for my Type A tendencies!

      Taking a vacation was one of the best things I could’ve done! Now I’m trying to plan more of them throughout next year so I can nip the burnout ahead of time!

      Reply
  4. Man you sound sooooo organised!! I’m gonna save this post because there are lots of great tips in it to take the time consuming pain out of blogging – no wonder you are able to work full time as a writer – you’ve obviously put a lot of work in to blogging and it has played an important part of getting you where you are now and that is truly inspirational!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  December 3, 2010

      Aww thank you! I’m actually not a full time writer yet (my day job has nothing to do with writing) but I am working to get there! I’ve only been in the game for over a year so I’m hoping this will all pay off real soon!

      Reply
  5. Ha MJ! At least you have a place to escape. Where the heck can I go in December that’s outdoors in New York??! No where! Too cold!

    If you notice, the common threat amongst those of us who have been blogging a while is we spend about 10 hours and the newer bloggers spend about 3. Of course, that’s not always the case but it’s interesting to see that as most of us get experience, we seem to blog more often.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  December 3, 2010

      Girl I’m a native New Yorker, so trust me I feel your pain! LOL

      I think you see such an increase of time when a blogger gets more experienced can be attributed to more time it takes to build better posts, network with your newfound blogging friends, getting into social media, and interacting with brands. The more your blog grows, the more time you have to invest in it.

      Reply
  6. MJ

     /  December 3, 2010

    @ Tracey & Elle Sees – I used to get overwhelmed by so many ideas. An editorial calendar works WONDERS for that! It seriously saved my life! All you need is just a regular notebook with dates written in. Then you can just jot down your ideas for future posts. That way they are all in one place and you stay organized!

    I just might do a blog post on that! 🙂

    Reply
  7. I spend about 10-20 hours a week working on my blog. I am new to blogging, so I am still in the “honeymoon” phase, where everything is exciting and new, so I don’t view the hours as a strain. However, like Elle Sees, I have so many ideas and plans, that I need to focus and I need to get organized so I don’t get burned out.

    Reply
  8. i only feel pressure to make a really good post. i need to work on my time. i have too many ideas & i need to focus.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

