Friend Friday: Holiday Party Attire

Yes folks, Christmas is next Saturday!  As crazy as it sounds I’m actually not freaking out this year.  That’s because this year my family and I opted for an extremely low key Christmas this year.  I think it hasn’t been this quiet is many years because we all love to party! However in the past two years we had my brother’s high school trip, graduation, and prom then my wedding (earlier this year) and now my sister’s upcoming high school prom and graduation.  So instead of tiring ourselves out even more, we are going to enjoy one another’s company instead, giving Santa Claus some time off in our house.  The economy has also forced my company as well as my husband’s to forgoe the holiday party hoopla and opt for casual lunches during the workday instead!

With all that said, my answers to this week’s questions about holiday parties and attire are based on the other holidays where I did attend a lot of parties!

 

Which holiday party are you looking forward to attending this year?

In past years, I’ve had some cousins of mine who always threw a slamming party at their home.  There were always tons of Cuban food, a full stocked bar, DJ, and family members we rarely see all year. I always had a good time at their parties.  You would have old people and young people dancing together, little kids playing in the backyard, and at least two older male family members acting completely silly!  Yeah, good times!
 

What is your go-to holiday party outfit?

If it’s a house party, I normally go to my nice, dark wash jeans, a dressy blouse, and killer heels.  I feel comfortable yet dolled up all at the same time.  And oh, I can’t forget the flip flops because after all the dancing I normally do, I gotta switch shoes!

If it’s an office party or any other formal affair I usually go out and get a new dress to wear (what better excuse right?!)  If the event is held at a fancy hotel, I opt for a nice long, dark gown and a pretty shawl just in case the place is cold inside.  For restaurant parties I’ll wear a shorter (usually knee length) dress that isn’t as formal as a gown but appropriate all the same!
 

Do you go dressed in something that would be impractical to wear at any other time of the year?

For the swanky hotel parties I do because I have no other place down here in South FL to wear a gown!  That’s something I seriously miss about living in NYC because I used to get formally dressed up to see shows on Broadway and Carnegie Hall, never feeling out of place.  Here, however, a lot of people don’t know the concept of formal wear so it’s very hard to wear a gown at any other time of the year, unless you’re going to a holiday party.
 

If you are going to a house-party what gift will you bring to the host/hostess?

You can never go wrong with a bottle of wine!  That is my go-to gift when I’m going to a house party, especially if I’ve never been there before.  If it’s someone’s house I go to all the time, I normally bring a dessert or treats that I know the host/hostesses likes, making sure I have enough for everyone attending to have some as well!
 

If you could buy only one trendy piece to update your holiday party wardrobe, what would you get this year?

Can we say sparkly, glittery shoes?? 

Steve Madden Caryssa (Piperlime)

 

I’m not going anywhere this year but I might buy these anyway!

 

What about you?? What are your holiday plans?  Have your outfits picked out yet?

 

Photo courtesy of:  hellobeautiful.com, piperlime.com

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Ahhhh, love the sound of your Cuban family parties! =] Yum! I just discovered Cuban food this fall, and ohhhhhh man, so delish! buuut I can understand where you’d like some peace and quiet. Lots of stuff going on in your family! Enjoy (and maybe get yourself those heels for a little self Christmas gift)!

    Reply
    • Cuban food is definitey one of the best types of food out there!!!

      Yes, the peace and quiet will be nice because I have a very hectic year coming up! I hope you have an awesome holiday (and I’ll keep you updated on the shoes! 😉 )

      Reply
  2. JTWisdom

     /  December 18, 2010

    I agree that not to many parties at work and it will be a laid back Christmas at home this year which is nice. The hubby and I have been going non-stop and we are celebrating Christmas with the family this Sunday so we will have the holiday to ourselves. It’s nice because we play games and watch old movies.
    I think the shoes would look haute on you. Buy them, you know you wanna.

    Reply
    • Playing games and watching old movies sounds like a ton of fun! It’s awesome to find pleasure in the little things!

      And yeah, I’m really leaning towards those shoes! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Your family parties sound like a hoot! I hear what you’re saying about how the state of the economy has pretty much determined how few festive celebrations we are seeing at the moment – across the pond it has been the same – I wasn’t even invited to Mr V’s office party!
    Think you should go for the sparkly shoes too!

    Reply
    • My husband wasn’t invited to my holiday party luncheon and my husbands party started to early in the day, I couldn’t go if I wanted to! I’m really loving those sparkling shoes!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

