Friend Friday: The Measure of Blogger Success

 

Welcome to the first Friend Friday of 2011!!  

This week is all about self-evaluation, of your blog and yourself as a blogger.  I always feel that in order to grow and embark on bigger and better things, it’s always good to periodically reflect on yourself and your work.  It helps you to celebrate the accomplishments you attained so far as well as pinpoint any ways of thinking that may keep you from attaining your goal.  I know this topic reminds me of the subject of Blogger Jealousy that we covered awhile back but it’s all good!  Answering these questions for me at least is helping to keep that in check and focus instead on what I want for my blog.

So here we go!

 

Have you ever looked at someone’s blog and thought yours will never measure up?
When I started blogging over a year ago, I used to do that a lot!  I never thought my blog would ever get the audience, comments, and social media influence that the other more established blogs had.  As I continued to grow my blog and learn more as a blogger I don’t get that feeling as often.  I look back and try to give myself credit for being in the game this long, for forming the friendships I’ve made, and for taking advantage of the opportunities this blog has afforded me in other areas of writing and blogging.  I think that it takes time to feel secure in your blogger skin and realize that many of these blogs that you’re admiring took a lot of time, effort, and perseverance in order to achieve the status it has.

Do you (did you) feel pressure to meet some kind of undefined standard for fashion bloggers?
I did feel that pressure in the beginning to have my blog up to the standards of all the established fashion blogs I followed.  I soon realized that it took these bloggers time to get their blogs to where they were.  I wasn’t going to have stellar content, a super cool layout, magazine style photos, or a million comments right out the gate.  Trying to get my blog there was also going to take time and the more I keep saying that to myself, the less pressure I feel.

Many established fashion bloggers are also extraordinary DIYers, bakers, and crafty people. Do you think you need to combine all of these things to be successful at blogging?

I honestly don’t think so.  In order for a fashion blogger to be successful, they need to stay true to themselves first and foremost.  If being themselves includes knowing how to sew their own dress or bake extraordinary cookies, then they should definitely showcase that on their blog.  For others, like myself, who can’t sew a button and will only bake cookies out of a Pillsbury roll, there’s no need to force that on our blogs.  It won’t be genuine and it won’t be us.  Granted, I don’t think that I would have a slew of crafty people reading my blog, but for those who completely suck at anything craft-like, they can appreciate me and the other things I bring to my blog.  I’ll be successful among the non-crafters! LOL 

The most successful blogs are the ones that have their own personal voice – how are you developing your voice or how did you find yours?

It was hard for me in the beginning because I was always taught not to write as I speak so it was hard to make that transition.  Once I did, I found my voice and my own unique style of writing.  Of course, as all writers do, you refine your style over time but the foundation for my blogging voice is me!  If I had to verbally tell a blog post to someone standing right in front of me, it would read pretty much the same way as I write it (I overuse the word “awesome” more than you know!)  As I aim to provide more in depth and editorial content, I get to use my professional voice or my soap box voice, whichever one the situation calls for.  I know I’ve effectively conveyed my writing voice is when a reader meets me in person and they can say, “OMG she really sounds like that!”

Toot your own horn… what’s one thing you do that is unique to you and your blog? What gives your blog an edge?

If I can name one thing that is unique about me and my blog is that I try to be as down to earth as I can when it comes to what I do on the blog.  My perspective on fashion and beauty is unique because up until two years ago I never used a cleanser, let alone owned any makeup.  I didn’t start wearing more than just jeans and T-shirts until I left college.  So I’m coming from the place of a girl who just got into the game of beauty and fashion, where I can help those who want to be more fashionable and try their hand at makeup and at the same time be able to hang out with big girls who’ve been doing this all of their life!  The edge at the end of the day is me because there’s only one MJ in the world, so I let that unique factor be myself and my personality.

 

Okay, your turn!  I would love to hear your thoughts about your own measures of blogger success!  What gives your blog it’s edge?

If you’re interested in joining the Friend Friday fun, head on over to Modly Chic to find out the details!

 

Photo courtesy of:  http://www.themillionairesecrets.net

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I know what you mean about NOT writing as you speak. We are told all through school to have voice, but to write with a certain standard. It can be hard to get away from that. Of course, I’m in school and write for my blog – so it can be hard to remember which voice to write with at which time!

    The Auspicious Life

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 9, 2011

      I know what you mean! All through school I was trained to write so properly so it’s hard to write improperly sometimes!

      Reply
  2. I think one thing that keeps speaking forth is that we have to be true to ourselves when we talk about finding that voice. Readers can tell if you are trying to be something that you are not on your blog (bloggers intuition maybe). Being able to relate creates such a strong connection in blogging.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 8, 2011

      Readers can definitely tell if you’re faking it, which can be a major turn off!

      Reply
  3. I think being down to earth is so important. I don’t tend to patronize blogs where I don’t have access to the blogger. And you’re right…there’s only one MJ!

    ••V••
    http://www.gritandglamour.com
    @gritandglamour

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 7, 2011

      I tend to gravitate towards more personal blogs myself! It’s all about being relatable!

      Reply
  4. Yayyyyyy for staying true to yourself!! I did my first FF post today…loving the group….great answers:)
    Nice to meet you…….

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 7, 2011

      Welcome to FBFF!! You will LOVE this group!

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Reply
  5. lol, what the heck did you use if you didn’t use a cleanser???

    Reply
  6. “up until two years ago I never used a cleanser, let alone owned any makeup”
    I didn’t realise that!! Who could have guessed?
    Such great answers MJ and a very positive outlook – I agree with you that if you aren’t a crafty person why try to be just for a blog – there’s success mileage to be had from sticking to what you enjoy or are good at!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 7, 2011

      LOL! Thank you! I am a very recent beauty and fashion convert! At the end of the day you have to stay true to yourself and realize that there isn’t any one else like you or your blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

