Friend Friday: Oh, What to Wear?

Happy Friday Ladies!

This week, the FBFF gang is tackling a lighter topic this week.  It’s all about outfit posts and how we prepare for them.  As you know I’m not a daily outfit poster but I am trying to get some more of those on my blog (check out my first one of the year!).   I’m still trying to get the best picture quality from my new camera and trying to find the best spots in my house to take pictures (I’m still too chicken to venture out!).  With all that said, I’m going to try my best to answer this week’s questions!

How do you determine what you will wear that day?

At this early stage of doing outfit posts, I just pick out my favorite things to wear!  None of my readers have really seen my wardrobe, so if I plan on wearing something that I absolutely adore, I try my best to take pictures of me wearing it.


Do you plan outfits out in advance for a whole week, month, weekend?

Being that I only do these posts once a week, I do try to keep in my mind what type of outfit I want to take pictures in.  For now I seem to only have time in the morning’s before work so I don’t have time to go through outfits to pick the perfect one.


Do you have any specific way of tracking outfits and items already worn so you don’t repeat?

I don’t have a way to track certain outfits just yet.  For now I just keep them all in the back of mind, though I imagine setting up some type of photo tracking sheet in the future.  (I’m such a Type A, I know!)


How do you discover new combinations of items in your closet? (Trial try-ons?  Hanging items together?)

When I’m just getting dressed period, I do try to hang items together first.  If I like the combo, then I’ll try it on to make sure it looks as good as it did on the hangers.


To streamline the process for 2011 what is one new thing you can do to cut down your dressing time?

For me the thing to do this year is find a process, then find ways to streamline it!

I would love to hear from you more seasoned daily outfit post bloggers!  A girl needs all the help she can get!

If you’re interested in joining the Friend Friday fun, head on over to Modly Chic to find out the details!

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Hanging the clothes together seems like a great start to choosing outfits.
    And I’m with you on the picture thing. I’ve been doing it for a couple months and it still freaks me out!

    The Auspicious Life

    Reply
  2. Good post!!! I was a big chicken in the beginning when I posted my first few outfits posts. I got such good feedback, and it made me excited to post my next outfit just to see what people would say about it, etc.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 14, 2011

      Thanks so much! I’m hoping as time goes on I can get more comfortable with it!

      Reply
  3. I’m pretty chicken about going outside and getting photos. I feel so stupid doing it! If your hubby doesn’t mind accompanying you out and about with the camera here’s a tip for you: Mr V and I have developed a cunning plan – we go to locations where there are usually tourists and pretend we are tourists ourselves. That way when we take photos we just blend in with all the rest of them!

    Reply
  4. You’ll find a process soon enough. The more you do outfit posts the more you will begin to realize there needs to be a little reasoning behind what you’re up to. Don’t stress it though, it comes pretty naturally. – Katy

    Reply
  5. I am so excited about seeing more OOTD posts from you! I’d love to see what your answers are to these questions NEXT year, after you have been doing the posts for a more regular time period. It will be interesting to see if your habits change and if you plan everything out more.

    Me, I am a wear things on a whim type of woman – I just grab whatever catches my eye that morning and go with it!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 14, 2011

      I’m excited too! Thank you! I’m sure my answers to these questions would be a whole lot different next year!

      Reply
  6. Hi there….I think you are doing just great as far as how you pick things to wear.
    I have a pretty easy method I use, that I posted for FF too….there may be an idea or two that you could put to good use:)

    Stop by and say Hello♥
    Enter my Lulus Giftcard Giveaway♥

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

