Friend Friday: Blogging and Being Authentic

 

 

It’s Friday and the remnants of this crazy cold are almost gone so that in itself gives me a reason to celebrate!

This week we’re talking about blogger authenticity, asking ourselves the question of whether a blogger is keeping it real with us or just faking the funk.  It’s a great topic to talk about because for newbie bloggers, it’s important for them to remember to stay true to themselves and not try to be something they’re not just get their blog noticed.  It’s also great for us blogging veterans because it forces us to evaluate our blogs and make sure we’re not losing ourselves among the growing site stats and myriads of PR pitches.

 

Most readers and fellow fashion bloggers value authenticity in the blogs they read. How would you describe blog/blogger authenticity?

I measure a blog/blogger’s level of authenticity in a number of ways.  If I feel that the blogger is writing as if they would be speaking directly to me as opposed to just spewing out information like a robot that lets me know to some degree that the blog is authentic.  If I’ve been following a blog for awhile and can get a feel for the type of designers, beauty brands, or types of clothing a blogger totally loves (or can’t stand), then that gives me a sense of authenticity.  However, if a blog just talks about the latest trends or the latest products that everyone else in the world blogs about 99% of the time, then I feel that a blogger is just trying to keep up with everyone else as opposed to just being their self.


When it comes to your blog how to you infuse it with that true/ authentic feeling?

One way I try to keep the blog true to myself is in my blogging voice – meaning that I try to write as if I was speaking to a friend of mine on the phone.  Another way is I always try to relate a story to me in some kind of way, whether it’s a product review or a news story.  I’ll try to mention in the intro how I feel about a certain story or what’s going on in my life that relates to a product I’m reviewing. I also receive a lot of PR pitches and whenever I’m looking over something I always ask myself “If I wasn’t blogging, would I tell a friend about this?”  or “If I had to spend my own money on this product, would I even buy it?”  Answering those questions keeps me focused on my own likes and dislikes that makes my blog authentic to me.


Have you stopped following a blog in the last three months? What made you lose interest?

I actually did a major clean up of my Google Reader a month or so ago and it was mostly in the Beauty blog category. It became so repetitive giving me a picture of a product, the same basic facts about it, and where to buy it.  I can get that anywhere!  I wanted to know how that particular blogger felt about it.  Did she like it?  Was it easy to use?  Is it worth all of the hype?  Any tips and tricks to using it?  Is the price tag worth it?  Answering questions like these would give these blogs personality and allow me to get to know the blogger better.


We can’t communicate effectively on our blogs, something we don’t live in real life… what are some ways you try to live an authentic life?

I think when it comes to living an authentic life a person has to not be afraid to be themselves, whether its on a blog or not.  That was something I really had to learn.  It’s easy to try to fit the molds of other people in your life, especially if those people are really close to you. When I learned to have the courage to make myself happy and pursue the career path I always wanted to (writing), that’s when I started to evaluate the other things in my life to see if they were true to me.  Once I did that, it became easier to live an authentic life.


Give a shout-out… Which bloggers do you think are truly genuine and why?

Vahni from Grit and Glamour – I don’t have to tell you how down to earth and awesome she is!

Beautifully Invisible – her blog posts are always thought provoking and she’s not afraid to give her honest opinions, no matter how against the grain they are.

Suze from Miss Vinyl Ahoy – she always stays true to her style, even when she’s trying new things.

Veshoevius from Taxonomy of My Wardrobe – her blogging voice is unmistakable whether it’s an outfit post or telling Vogue magazine about themselves!

Katy from Modly Chic – Her creation of Friend Friday is now a serious force in the blogosphere and I love that she’s still so down to earth!

How can you tell if a blogger is being true themselves or just trying to keep up with the blogging Joneses?

If you’re interested in joining the Friend Friday fun, head on over to Modly Chic to find out the details!

Photo source

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Hey babe, thank you for the mention!

    I loved this: “It became so repetitive giving me a picture of a product, the same basic facts about it, and where to buy it. I can get that anywhere! I wanted to know how that particular blogger felt about it.”

    EXACTLY! I feel the same about people running pictorials from American fashion mags. Seriously. We’ve ALL seen them! Anyway, you get the need for original content, or at least an original perspective. I wish more bloggers would.

    ••V••
    http://www.gritandglamour.com
    @gritandglamour

    Reply
  2. Agreed! You have to sound like yourself in your posts, and you do! I feel like I’d know you from your blog if we ever met IRL. 🙂
    And thanks for the shout out 🙂

    Reply
  3. I definitely agree with you on your response to question one. I can’t stand blogs that just list the latest trends, or products etc with no personal touch.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 21, 2011

      I know right?! That’s why I tend to follow more fashion blogs than beauty ones!

      Reply
  4. Thanks for the shout-out in #5. And I have to agree with your other choices of authentic bloggers. They are all such stellar women and appear to be truly themselves in every post. – Katy

    Reply
  5. I definitely agree with you about the voice aspect of a blog. If I can’t connect with a blogger, if he or she doesn’t make me laugh or smile or think differently, then I don’t stick with that blogger.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 21, 2011

      Right. You want to feel like you sitting down and having a convo with that blogger and as bloggers we should always remember that!

      Reply
  6. Ahhh we totally agree on the keeping it real part about blogging.
    I think I offend some people but oh well. I’m not hear to please everyone. You reach some you lose some. Its like that in life offline too.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 21, 2011

      Absolutely! At least they can never say you weren’t being yourself! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

