Friend Friday: Well, Technically Speaking…

The type of Camera I'm currently using (photo courtesy of store.Kodak.com)

 

I’ve must have been real anxious for this Friday because I’ve been in a Friday state of mind since yesterday! LOL 

Anywho, today’s topic is all about the technology and how we use it for our blogs.

 

What technology do you use in blogging? (computer, camera, video, camera, tripod, etc…)

I use my Gateway laptop of course but besides that I also use a tape recorder (for phone interviews), my Kodak Easy Share camera, and a tripod my mom found for me at a Thrift store – both of which will be getting a lot of use over the next few weeks!


What computer and online technology do you use? (blogging system, photo storage, photo editing tools, etc..)

  • WordPress:  the blogging platform that I adore!
  • NetworkedBlogs:  automatically posts my blog posts to my Facebook Page
  • Picnik: For photo editing (a total lifesaver for the outfit posting novice like me!)
  • Microsoft Powerpoint:  For putting together a picture with multiple images, with the ability to group them all and save them as a jpg.


What is your process for taking pictures?

I’m really trying to figure that out now!  Before I was just taking pictures sporadically but now (especially since joining the 30×30 challenge), I have to get a process going quick!  I totally open to suggestions on this topic!

 


When it comes to backdrops for your photos what do you consider? Do you scout locations or shoot the same spot daily?

Right now I’m too chicken to venture outside my apartment to take photos.  So for now my apartment will do!  When picking a spot in my home, I have to consider lighting and a place where the items in my place don’t cause too much distraction in photos.  Lighting for me has been a little difficult only because during the week I only have 20 minutes to shoot in the morning before I rush off to work and getting the right amount of sunlight at 8 something in the morning is a challenge.  So I’m still experimenting on finding the perfect location.

 


If you could splurge and get one new piece of equipment what would you be buying?

I would definitely splurge on a macdaddy DSLR digital camera.  I see the photo quality of the fashion bloggers that use them and they are awesome!  I’m soo saving my pennies to get one!

I would love to know what technological gadgets you ladies use in your blogging!

 

If you’re interested in joining the Friend Friday fun, head on over to Modly Chic to find out the details!

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Oooh, i love hearing what cool bits of tech everyone else is using!
    Finally invested in a ‘bridge’ camera so let’s see what happens!

    x.o.x.o

    Reply
  2. If you are interested in trying outdoor shots I suggest you find some place that has very few people walking by and you are comfortable with. Maybe a side-street or park and take your photos a couple times there. If you walk through a couple times before you take the pics you’ll be more comfortable with the location and how you want to take your pics when the time comes. – Katy

    Reply
  3. The DSLR is one popular camera!! LOL

    Reply
  4. Girl, bye! You have hipped me on some things, today! I took notes! *writing* Picnik, Microsoft PowerPoint, and DSLR camera. Check!

    Reply
  5. good to hear what others are using. I am heavily thinking of switching to wordpress for my blog.. Especially, since I’ve been reading so many benefits from it. I need to get another camera. maybe a Kodak or Canon… hhmmmm

    /Cheers!

    http://www.ladyofashion.com
    twitter: @ladyofashion

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 28, 2011

      My mom has a Canon and I like her camera a little bit more than mine but either way, you can make it work!

      Reply
  6. I’m always so curious about others’ gadgets…thanks for sharing!

    ••V••
    http://www.gritandglamour.com
    @gritandglamour

    Reply
  7. Hi MJ-

    So you like Picnik too? I used to use FotoFlexer but Picnik is soooo much better.

    I posted my replies too and guess what? Moved my blog from my site to WordPress! yes, its the platform of choice 🙂

    Michelle

    Reply
  8. I use a DSLR and it takes great pictures and it is almost idiot proof! You won’t be disappointed when you get one but they have all sorts of settings that I’m still getting used to and I’d like to do a course. I hear you about being too chicken to take outdoor outfit shots as I am the same but there are ways around it and starting indoors is a good way in.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 28, 2011

      That’s great to hear that the DSLR is fool proof because I know I’m not the best photographer! LOL

      Reply
  9. I’m with you on the DSLR!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 28, 2011

      Yes!! I need to get my hubby on board with upgrading my camera to one! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

