Friend Friday: Who’s Ready for Some Color??

Outfit 6 of the 30x30 challenge

It’s real funny that this week would be all about color because I didn’t realize just how much color I had in my wardrobe until doing this 30×30 challenge!  I literally had this fashion epiphany the other day so I’m glad I get to talk about it!

What color dominates your closet?

Hmmm, I would have to say that the purples, blacks, and denim blues have it in my closet.  There was a time I was subconsciously buying a lot of purples and when I realized it I started changing it up.  Black and denim blue are always staple colors because I like wearing bottoms that pretty much go with everything.  I’m also not that comfortable wearing colored pants or skirts just yet!
If money weren’t an issue how would you change the color emphasis in your closet?

I have a ton of colored tops and dresses so I would invest in getting colored pants and multicolored skirts.  I tended to stay away from them because I would always be afraid that I wouldn’t have a top to go with them.  Neutral bottoms are also pretty safe too, so if money were no object I would totally go crazy with those.  I would also invest in getting more pieces with colored patterns because that would also take me out of my fashion comfort zone.

What is your mantra about mixing colors?

Keep it in the family!  For example, in this outfit post, my purple tee and cardigan aren’t the exact same color purple, but they are all in the same family when it comes to shades and brightness.  That’s important if you’re going to be wearing these pieces of clothing together.   Also, I make sure that I have a neutral color to balance it all out whether it’s black shoes or pants.  I’m looking to get more daring with color so this will be the mantra until I get there!
For you, how do you incorporate color into your outfits?

Most of my color is in my tops and dresses.  I like looking for conservative pieces like sweaters or sheath dresses in loud and bold colors.  It allows me to have fun without wearing something I would be completely uncomfortable in.  I also work in an office five days out of the week so I also look professional but express my personality at the same time.  I also LOVE colored accessories because I can add color to otherwise very neutral outfits like button down shirts or LBD’s.  I’m also on the look out for more colored shoes like these so I can also get more color into my fashion diet!
Which blogger(s) do you think do a good job of incorporating color into their wardrobe?

There are always way to many to name so here are a few that I can think of off top!

Emily of Cupcakes and Cashmere – I had to mention this blog because of this post last summer.  It totally inspired me to get colored pumps into my life (and I’m still looking for a yellow pair like these!)

Suze of Miss Vinyl Ahoy – Queen of mixing colors, prints and patterns and she even broke it down on how to do it with this post and this post (I definitely took notes!)

Bethany of Misplaced Sequins – I like how she adds pops of color into her outfits, especially how she pulled it off in this outfit.  Aren’t those shoes fab?

Kendie of Kendie Everyday – I just started following her blog and I really like her style, especially how she used complimentary colors in this recent outfit.

Talk to me!  How do you incorporate color into your fashionable life?

 

If you’re interested in joining the Friend Friday fun, head on over to Modly Chic to find out the details!

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I just found your blog thanks to CurvyGirlChic… I love your style and I love the color purple… if you swing by my blog Diva in Deep Thought you will see I wear purple and teal the most. I also have just about every color stiletto known to man… So if there is no color in my outfit… usually the shoes and accessories will have color. 🙂

    Reply
    • Oooh colored stilettos! Totally need to get more in my life! Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Reply
  2. Ok while everyone is loving their color I’m way on the other side of black and neutral LOL. I do add color in my accessories though.

    Reply
    • Girl there is nothing wrong with neutrals! I would actually have to put in an effort to wear a completely neutral outfit!

      Reply
  3. They say purple is the colour of creative people! Love the top and great shoes!

    Reply
  4. good answers…i’m all about colors too! have to jazz things up, neutrals are boring

    Vonnie
    http://www.socialitedreams.com/

    Reply
    • Color definitely jazzs things up and living in a tropical place, it’s hard not to wear colors!

      Reply
  5. LOOOVE this outfit! The color is gorgeous and bow in your hair is so cute! 🙂 Good luck with the rest of 30 for 30, Im doing it too, and loving it so far!

    http://www.itsanewkate.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • Thank you!! It’s starting to become of one of my favs so far! Good luck to you too on the 30×30! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Hehe… Queen of mixing colors, prints and patterns… I like that description. I may add it to my business cards 🙂 (Right under “inflated ego!!) LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

