Outfit 16 of 30: My Pencil Skirt Means Business

I finally got around to wearing this black pencil skirt for this challenge.  A black pencil skirt is definitely a wardrobe basic and when working in a corporate environment, it’s a must!  You can’t help but feel like a diva professional in it and if I could last all day at work in stilletto heels, you couldn’t tell me anything! 

The skirt itself is high waisted and I never tucked any of my tops in because it would bring more attention to my midsection.  But wearing a black cami along with the long cardigan didn’t give me that issue and you can’t even tell I’m wearing a cami and a skirt unless you’re up close.  The black proved to be slimming and the length of the cardi gave more attention to my curves than the roundess in the middle.  It also gave my casual cardi a more professional look, because I usually wear it over a white or black tee shirt and my trousers on Friday’s to work (unfortunately we don’t have casual Fridays so I kinda make up my own version!).  This cardigan is my favorite and I’m excited to find a new (and more professional way) to wear it!

Black pencil skirt, Burgandy cardian, pearls

Cardigan – Charlotte Russe

Pencil Skirt – JCPenny

Cami – Gifted

Shoes: Payless

Pearl Necklace – Aldo

Pearl Flower Stud Earrings – Charlotte Russe

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. you are rocking the pencil skirt! looks fab here with your color blocking and that knotted pearl necklace. love it.
    -brittney
    http://adayinlifetoo.blogspot.com (fellow remixer)

    Reply
    • Thank you! It’s so funny because the necklace actually broke and I just wear it knotted! 🙂

      Reply
  2. i like the skirt and jewelry 🙂 great pop of color in the cardigan hon

    Vonnie
    http://www.socialitedreams.com/

    Reply
  3. You look great MJ! Fierce You are certainly fierce girl.

    Reply
  4. Wow. You are beautiful! I love your hair!

    Also loved your makeup idea on the google discussion!

    Reply
    • OMG thank you! You’re too sweet!

      I’m glad you like the idea! I know there are a lot of fashion events with personal styling but I haven’t seen too many with personal beauty styling so it should be fun! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Oh MJ I love this outfit on you. And I absolutely agree a black pencil skirt is essential for working in a corporate environment, as well as a pair of black straight leg pants!

    I have to say that this outfit and the colors really becomes you.

    Reply
    • Michelle you are too sweet! Thank you! I’ve never worn this combo before so I’m glad it worked out!

      I am a huge fan of the black straight leg pants! You can never have enough!

      Reply
  6. you look ready to kick ass in the boardroom lady – you’re so right about the pencil skirt being an essential wardrobe item especially for working girls in corporate environments – the best item to work some femininity in the workplace and still appear professional!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

