Friend Friday: The Art of Balancing Blogging and Real Life



Friday kinda snuck up on me, which is really hard to do!  But this week was a toughy for me, so keeping up with the days was a little hard.  But it’s all good!  Friday is here and we are talking about balancing blogging and our real life.

Sidenote:

I’m guest posting on Pixie and Pumps today so make sure you check it out and let me know what you think! And if you’re a writer, I wrote about this very same topic over on my publisher’s blog (as my alter ego of course!)

 

When it comes to prioritizing your life, in what place does blogging fall?
Blogging comes in second, sharing that spot with my other writing endeavors.  Blogging does hold a high spot because it’s helping me pursue the writing career I want.  It’s a public display of my work and talent so I try to work as hard as I can and put my best stuff out there!

My husband and family are always first and I always make time for them!  It’s hard because I love writing period, but I always try to keep in mind that they are also a big part of my life and I couldn’t do what I do if it wasn’t for their love and support!

We all wish we had more free time to dedicate to blogging and all it entails. What are your tricks for taking advantage of the time you do have to be as productive as possible?
  •  Designate a day for writing:  Sundays are when I write up all of my blog posts for the week.  Having my handy dandy calendar is great because I don’t have to waste time thinking about what to write (I do that on another day!) Not only do I get a lot done, it forces me to stay home and chill on the couch while I work (and watch Netflix!)
  • Social Media on the Go:  When it comes to social media (Twitter, Facebook) I do most of it from my phone so when I have a free moment during the day whether it’s during my lunch break, standing in line, or even in bed in the morning while watching the news, I use my phone to read through my Twitter and FB feeds as well as update my status. 
  • Designate a time for emails:  When it comes to emails from PR companies, blog assignments, etc I stick them all in a folder in my Inbox as they come in, leaving them unread.  Then one night when I’m home, I’ll just go through them all at once! 

Have you discovered any short-cuts that makes blogging easier or more time efficient?
The best short cut I can give is pre-posting.  Getting your blog posts done and scheduled ahead of time makes life soo much easier and relieves some of the pressure of having to post all the time.

Do you have an editorial calendar or something similar that helps you plan ahead?
Yes, yes, YES! I cannot live without it and loved it so much, I wrote a blog post about it! LOL

If time wasn’t an issue what you would be doing on your blog/for your blog that you aren’t doing now?

I would love, love, LOVE to cover more events and really get out into my community to discover new fashion and beauty trends.  South Florida has a style all of its own and if I had all day everyday to drive around and discover it all I surely would!

 

 

What are your thoughts?  How do you balance blogging and your personal life?

 

 

If you’re interested in joining the Friend Friday fun, head on over to Modly Chic to find out the details!

Photo source

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Wow – you write it all on a Sunday? I’m impressed! I’m actually really comparatively disorganised about blogging and sort of just do it as I go along without much of a plan! You’ve reminded me I need to get a handle on preposting – would save me alot of time. I do need to get a new phone to do tweets on the go – that would be really neat!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  March 14, 2011

      I think I was pretty much forced into pre-posting, because I have soo many other things going on. If I didn’t I think I would completely burn out! LOL

      Tweeting on the phone is a lifesaver! I don’t think I really tweet any other way! 🙂

      Reply
  2. I really like the idea of setting some time aside for emails. I just check/reply to them whenever, and it gets me so unfocused!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  March 11, 2011

      I know right?? It’s easy to get distracted by incoming email!

      Reply
  3. lol, you loooove your editorial calendar ;P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

