Friend Friday: A Blogger’s Gratitude

Happy Birthday FBFF!!!

It’s the one year anniversary of Katy’s blogging baby and celebrate we are giving thanks to the people in our lives that have truly helped us be the best bloggers we can be.

1.  When it comes to be personally – I owe a lot of who I am to:

My husband:  He pushes me every day to pursue what I love and how to take time-outs when I need them!

My mom:  She taught me how to me strong, how to tackle adversity, and how to find any and all free events in my city! 😉

My brothers and sister:  They allow me to be crazy and goofy, which I’ve learned to bring to my writing.  They’re awesome for that!

2. When it comes to be professionally – I owe a lot of who I am to:

My bestie Liz: She suggested …no she told me that I needed to start blogging! LOL She has thrown the most awesome opportunities at me, even when I thought I wasn’t ready.  She taught me soo much about this social media world and I love her for her it.

Joanna from Yahoo! Shine:  I wouldn’t even be blogging if I wasn’t given the opportunity to blog as a Beauty Guru.  She is also super supportive and always around when I need a question or just some words of encouragement.
 

3. When it comes to the art of blogging, I’m grateful to these people for helping me through some rough spots:

Vahni from Grit and Glamour:  Way before Friend Friday, I stumbled across her vlog on Building a Better Blog when I was trying to get my blog beyond the basics.  I learned a whole lot from her and then when I really got to know her through Friend Friday, I continue to learn.  She is a blogging guru!

My bestie Liz gets it again:  She listens when I need to vent about blogging frustrations and always has helpful advice!

Independent Fashion Bloggers:  I know it’s not a particular person, but when I don’t know where I would be without the awesome bloggers who contribute to this site and put on those fabulous conferences.  Whenever I’m faced with an issue with my blog that is the first place I go to and usually leave out with more.

My FBFF community:  I truly didn’t learn the concept of community and blogger bonding until I joined the FBFF group.  Now I have a group of wonderful bloggers that I can talk to via comments on their blogs, twitter, and  our Google group about any questions I have, get awesome suggestions, and even share common blogging frustrations with.

4. One blogging challenge I’m grateful happened because it made me stronger was…

Getting Blogger Burn Out:  I needed to get burned out because I am the type of person who wants to take on and do everything!  I was pushing myself with my blog so much that I was doing more harm than good.  After getting a bad case of blogger burn out I was able to take a step back, streamline some things, and focus on the quality of my content instead of the quantity.

5. To my readers, I’d like to say…

 

And

 

 

 

Me and little ol’ blog wouldn’t be anywhere without you guys!!  Your comments always make my day !  There are times when I’m in a writing slump, not motivated to blog, or even having a rough day, but when I go to a post and see your comments, my day automatically gets brighter!  It’s you guys that keep this place running and I can’t thank you all enough!!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Great answers! I, too, started finally feeling the blogger burn-out a while back. Like you, it helped me re-prioritize what my goals were and what I could realistically maintain. Glad you’re still around!
    🙂 f
    The House in the Clouds

    Reply
  2. I love your answers… I’m with michelle… the question was confusing… I thought it was blog related on all fronts… *shrugs*
    And that “You Rock” pic… amazing!!!!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  April 15, 2011

      Yeah I can definitely see how the first question was a bit confusing.

      I totally love that picture! It might become another screensaver…

      Reply
  3. You know how moms are!

    How do you find your blogging events? I have only done a couple but usually stumble on them by word of mouth.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  April 15, 2011

      I know but they mean well!!

      One way is through PR contacts I work with. Another way is to sign up for local websites and online magazines that are always putting on events in your area. Shecky’s is one that does a Girl’s Night Out in many cities throughout the year. It’s just doing some research and finding out what’s out there! Hope that helps! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Aw, thanks, MJ! It always makes me feel great knowing that I helped someone out! I appreciate the shout, doll!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  April 15, 2011

      Vahni you know you rock girl!! 🙂 I’m giving credit where credit is due!

      Reply
  5. I love the cartoon flick!

    You know, i didn’t credit who I am personally to the people in my life per say. I think the question was a little confusion based on the credit being attributed to blogging. My family really has little knowledge of my blogging so I didn’t credi tthem.

    It’s nice that your husband really pushes you to do the things he knows you love to do. Nothing like a supportive man in your life 🙂

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  April 15, 2011

      I thought the cartoon was awesome! 🙂

      I’m fortunate to have a family who supports all of writing endeavors (especially my mom who was a little iffy at first but now comes with me to blogging events! 🙂 ). And my husband is amazing! Even when I wasn’t sure what I was going to do myself a few years ago he was right there!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

