Friend Friday: Oh to Be Inspired….

 
To keep the FBFF 1 year birthday train going, we are answering the first Friend Friday questions that were sent out.  Though I wasn’t part of the group in the very beginning, I hope she asks these again next year so I can at least compare answers!

Which celebrity (celebrities) do you look to for fashion inspiration?

I honestly don’t have any one real celebrity or group of celebrities I look to for fashion inspiration (GASP!).  Granted I love looking at the Red Carpets of many awards shows and they prove to be more entertaining than the show themselves, but there really isn’t one in particular that I can say I want to dress just like her!  Most celebs aren’t built like me so there are many outfits they can rock that I simply can’t.  With that said, if I had to name anyone I would go with Ms. Queen Latifah and Amber Riley because are some fabulous curvy ladies that always look good!

 Amber RileyPhoto Courtesy of: Idolator.com

 

When it comes to your own personal style, what inspires you?

At this point in my life, I draw inspiration from just about everywhere!  As I’m approaching the ripe old age of 30, I’ve become a whole more adventurous with my style and pretty willing to try just about anything! LOL.  I’m greatly inspired by all of the wonderful blogs I read every day.  There are ladies out there that are really doing their thing and I can’t help but be inspired to wear something I haven’t worn before. 

As a native New Yorker living in a place where it’s beach time all year round I’m inspired by the vibes down here! You get the laid back and easy breezy feelings from lying out on the beach, enjoying the ocean breezes, and the abundance of sunny days. Then on the flip side you get the loud and festive vibes from the wonderful mixing of Caribbean cultures you find in food, clothing and festivals to the brightly colored buildings and fruit trees you pass by every day!

City Place West Palm Beach
City Place West Palm Beach (photo courtesy of barbosophoto.com)
 
 
How do you hope to inspire your readers?
I’m a girl who stepped into this big beauty and fashion realm only two years ago not knowing a thing about it and yet finding a passion that my life was lacking.  If I can inspire anything, I just want to show them that it doesn’t matter how old you are or where you are in life, it’s never too late to pursue your passion and just have the courage to make yourself happy.

Outside the realm of fashion who/what inspires you?
Music is always a big inspiration for me.  What I like so much about music is the feelings it invokes and what mood it puts you in.  When it comes to beauty and fashion I’m usually jamming to something when I’m in my closet looking for something to wear, in the car on the way to the mall, or even in the bathroom while doing my hair and makeup.  When it comes to writing, I have to have my music to keep me inspired and keep the creative juices flowing.  If I’m working on blog posts, I’m jamming to Pop or Hip Hop.  If I’m working on my book, I usually have anything from Alternative Rock to classical music.  Whatever it is, it has to put me in the mood to write about whatever I need to write about.

Beyonce DIVA

Photo courtesy of: howtopaper.com

And since Idol is ending… Which songs inspire you?

These are just a few because my music playlist is ridiculously long!

  •  Happy by Leona Lewis – When I was at a major crossroads in my professional life, I used to listen to this song all the time and it just really spoke my heart at the time.
  • Thank me Now by Drake – Besides the fact I think he is super cute, I like this song because it talks about how life is after you come up and what you say to those naysayers who thought you would never make it.
  • Diva by Beyonce – The name says it all!
  • 21 Guns by Green Day – This is song that I love writing to  (and the Broadway version is even more awesome!)
  • Lacrymosa by Evanescence – I love every song from them but this song was what inspired the book I’m working on now.

Talk to me!  What inspires you?

 

If you’re interested in joining the Friend Friday fun, head on over to Modly Chic to find out the details!

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Such amazing answers! I especially love your first answer, recognising curvy gils!

    Monique xx

    misszuman.blogspot.com

    Reply
  2. I love Green Day! I’ve been a fan of theirs since the 90s, and boy did I feel old when I heard “Time of Your Life” on the classic rock station a few years ago!! I enjoy your inspirations. Wonderful post! 🙂

    Reply
  3. I LOVE Queen Latifah. She’s an amazing role model for all of us. And she never makes a movie I don’t like.

    Thanks for your support this week. So appreciative.

    xo

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  April 22, 2011

      Her movies are amazing! My favorite one had to be Bringing Down the House! It was hilarious!

      Vahni you are fam! Anything you need you let me know! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Just seeing Amber Riley gave me chills.. she’s amazing, thanks for sharing.
    What a powerful, talented woman!
    I hope you don’t mind me shooting you this email to share our similarity!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  April 22, 2011

      I don’t mind at all! Thank you for stopping by! And yes, Amber looks fierce in that photo!

      Reply
  5. I didn’t know you were writing a book! Congrats!

    Reply
  6. Amber is looking all kinds of fierce in that photo! Great post 🙂

    Reply
  7. awesome answers…i liked the music bits

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  April 22, 2011

      Thanks Vonnie! My musical tastes are soo all over the place sometimes! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Hey thanks for stopping by my blog! How can I get a copy of your book? I’d love to check it out!

    Reply
  9. I love you inspiration, great songs, and the beach picture is so relaxing.. it reminds me when I go to the Bahamas. You’re so fortunate to be in a beach environment. 😉

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  April 22, 2011

      It is awesome to be so close to the ocean…though I have to keep reminding myself to take more advantage of it! LOL

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

