Dorothy Dandrige: My New Style Inspiration

As beauty and fashion bloggers we are almost tuned to constantly look for inspiration.  It could come from obvious places like magazines and fashion spreads or the less obvious, like music or art.  There are times I’m starving to be inspired and can’t find a thing!  Other times, I get completely smacked in the face inspiration when I’m not even looking for it.  The last time it happened it was when I completely stumbled across this fashion spread.  This time, it totally hit me while watching the movie Introducting Dorthy Dandridge that just happened to playing while I was flipping channels one evening at home.  I remember seeing it when it first came out and it still is one of my favorite Halle Berry movies.  She was absolutely stunning and the I seriously wanted to rock everything she wore down to the fur stoles and wide brimmed hats!  I was completely swooning and is probably one of the major reasons I ventured out to do a new makeup look.

Fast forward to Tuesday evening.  Once again, I’m flipping channels and I come across the original movie Carmen Jones, starring none other than Dorothy Dandridge.  I never watched this actress in action and let me tell you, this girl was FIERCE!!  She had sass, she was independent, and she had such an awesome sense of style!   It was no wonder this movie was such a hit and probably why it was so hard for her to have another one since, because it seemed she was built for that role.  From a fashion and beauty standpoint, she was a gorgeous woman who not only rocked her fashion, she owned her fashion!  So I had to dedicate a post this awesome and Fierce actress!

 

Photo courtesy of: msbush.wikispaces.com

 

Photo courtesy of: madamenoire.com

 

Photo courtesy of: home.hiwaay.net

 

Photo courtesy of: newshawker.com

 
Dorothy Dandridge

Photo courtesy of Planetbarberella.com

What celebrities (past or presesnt) inspire you?

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. You have to do a post with the products you are using for your newly natural hair 🙂

    or did i miss it?

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  May 25, 2011

      No I haven’t done an official one yet. I’m just waiting to get this haircut of mine fixed this weekend before I do an official update

      Reply
  2. She’s gorgeous! She’s such a classic beauty. I don’t really have a celebrity style icon.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  May 25, 2011

      She is definitely a classic beauty that just doesn’t get as much play as she should!

      Reply
  3. My style icons are the above (Dorothy Dandridge), Audrey Hepburn, Rosalind Russell, with some new age Beyonce, Rihanna, Queen Latifah, and Amber Riley thrown in for balance. I call my style New Age 40s Bombshell Glam.
    As for your above comments… since going natural… I think it has elevated my style. And I love the short curls… I think it adds to many of my 40s type looks.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  May 25, 2011

      I’m definitely learning to embrace these curls of mine and it does open the door to a whole new set of looks that I haven’t been able to do before!

      I love some Beyonce! We are actually the same age with birthdays only a few days apart so she is definitely on my Idol list! 🙂

      Reply
  4. I loved that movie! You make me wanna watch it again 🙂

    i have a new fashion, well beauty sense too. Not inspired by anyone other than my fellow curly head bloggers.

    See, since my hair’s been natural I haven’t done much more with it other than just straighten it with a flat iron. Now, I’m going heat free and rocking braid outs, twist outs, messy side buns and more. I bought soooooooo many products in the last 3 weeks I think I’ve overdone it LOL.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  May 25, 2011

      LOL!!! Girl I don’t think I’ve ever been so obsessed with curly hair since I started my hair journey! I’m actually heading over to the salon to cut off the rest of these relaxed ends so I can have it grow out and rock really big hair! I stay a product junkie though!! I can’t help it!

      Reply
      • nooo not the BC LOL. Do what you gotta do. My last trim was in November! I don’t trim often – maybe twice a year but I’m going to see if I need to do it more often now that I’m going mostly curly.

        by the way, i’m going to email you about contributing to an article I’m writing. Probably in a few weeks. Stay tuned!

      • MJ

         /  May 25, 2011

        Girl I don’t think it would be considered a big chop at this point! LOL. The back half of my hair is completely natural now so the crown just has to catch up! LOL.

        Definitely hit me up! I would love to help you out with that article!

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

