A Super Easy Way to do a Smokey Eye

Smokey eyes are one of my favorite makeup looks.  They’re gorgeous, sultry, and……. can be pretty darn complicated to do!  I’ve looked up a gazillion tutorials and even though the eye kits does make it simpler, it can also be a little much for our beauty budgets.  So I’ve come up with a super simple way of getting that same look without breaking the bank.  I’ve doing this method for awhile now and I have to say it’s a hit everytime!

The trick to this look is a simple layering of three shades of the same color. I’ve done this makeup look with blues, purples, and even greens. For this tutorial I used a light grey, dark grey, and black from the Pin Up POP  palette.

Pin Up POP Beauty Palette

Okay Ladies!  Here we go!

1.  Apply the lightest color all over the lid

Smokey Eye Tutorial

 

2.  Take the second lightest color and apply from the middle of the lid to the crease.  You can use your ring finger to blend.

Smokey Eyes

3.  Apply the darkest color from the crease to mid brow bone and the outter corners.  Make sure it’s blended in evenly.

Smokey Eyes

 

4.  Put on some liner and masacara, and you are good to go!

Classic Smokey Eyes

 

Have you mastered the art of the smokey eye?  What are you tips and tricks?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I love smoky eyes. Easy and simple tips to follow. I have to try it out, hope it works for me.

    Reply
  2. Well that’s simple enough thanks! I bought a few palettes from L’Oreal to do it but never get it right LOL

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  July 14, 2011

      LOL! It took me awhile to figure things out with pallette colors and I’m still learning!

      Reply
  3. Great tutorial!! The smoky eye is definitely one of the most desired/most difficult look to attempt if you are clueless. When I first tried, I looked ridiculous!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  July 13, 2011

      Thank you!! My next hurdle is trying to get eye color below my lash line. I always end looking like a racoon! LOL

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

