Friend Friday: What’s Up With All the Labels?

Photo courtesy of: aloneinthisworld.glogster.com

This week on FBFF we are talking about labels and fashion blogging, a topic that was inspired by Katy’s post this week.  I have to admit I found these questions a little tough this week!  On the one hand, I don’t want to be defined as just one word.  There isn’t one word or label that can truly define who I am as a person.  When it comes to being a blogger, however, labels are abound because how else can I the reader know what you’re writing about? 

A conclusion I came to is that when we blog we only reveal a small sliver of who we are and what we love.  Those who read our work have to remember that we are first and foremost people and aren’t defined by our likes, dislikes, or even the texture of our hair.  We also have to remember that just because we blog in one category doesn’t give us permission to step all over those who are different from us and exclude those bloggers that don’t share our interests.

So with that said, on to the questions!

As someone who writes/blogs about fashion, have you placed yourself into some sort of blogging category?

I really try not to put myself in a super specific category because I just find it very limiting.  My interests are soo all over the place and sometimes completely unrelated to each other that I don’t want to put myself in a box that would be hard to break out of later on.  I love fashion and beauty (both inner and outer beauty). With that said, the only category I could put on myself is that I am a beauty and fashion blogger.

What keeps you from or encourages you to label yourself as a certain kind of blogger?

What keeps me from trying to label myself as a certain kind of blogger is staying true to what I like and what I’m passionate about.   When it comes to my creativity period I can’t put myself in a particular category because once again I don’t want to limit myself.  The fashion and beauty world is huge and there is just too much exploring and experimenting that I want to do!  I like doing outfit posts, beauty reviews, editorials, etc.  I think if I stuck to one thing I would get bored rather quickly!  That’s why I don’t label myself one or the other.

When picking blogs to read and follow are you drawn to ones that indicate a certain group or way of thinking/being?
If anything, what really draws me to a blog is how unique and different is.  I’ve always like blogs that are out of the box for me, whether its outfits that I’ve always wanted to wear but scared to or DIY projects that I wish I could do.  I can’t help but be inspired to try new things and develop new interests by seeing how other people do it.

Do you think there are benefits in labeling yourself or others?

Labels are beneficial when you’re introducing yourself and your work in the beginning because it does help people pinpoint where you fall in the blogosphere.  Let’s face it, there a gazillion bloggers and it’s easier to identify with the familiar. I always tell people I’m a fashion and beauty blogger and right off the bat they know what type of writing I do.  It’s broad enough to give people a view of what I do and when they get to know me and my work, they will see (hopefully!) the unique perspective I bring that can’t be labeled anything else but Me! 

Agree or Disagree – We’re all just people; we don’t need all the labels.

I agree that we are all just people and we don’t need all of the labels that are out there but it’s just not that simple.  The reality of it is that things these days, especially in blogging, are so specialized. No matter how much we wanted to be seen as the person we are with the way that blogging has taken off categories are bound to happen and we do inevitably fall into at least one.  Where labels become detrimental is when they are used to demean and exclude others.  When we start saying things like “Only women with curves are real women” or “Street fashion bloggers are more talented than daily outfit bloggers” that’s when labels get dangerous.  That’s where we have to be careful.  If vintage is your thing and you want to be labeled as a vintage blogger then that’s cool.  But don’t be mean to others who blog about runway fashion.  We can do our own thing while appreciate the interests of others.

What say you?  How do you feel about labels and fashion blogging?

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. We said similar things for our answers, but great point in #5 about when labels can be dangerous!

    Reply
  2. Love your blog!!! =) it was so great meeting you on Wednesday night! looking forward to our next tweetup!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

