Fierce OOTD: Adventures in Color Blocking

I’ve been wanting to try out the colorblocking trend since the Spring and when I was getting dressed to see my Grandmother this past Saturday, I hadn’t realized I did it until I stepped into the mirror! LOL  The great thing about having a bigger closet (I went from a small closet to a walk in) is that I can actually see what I have a whole lot better.  I really enjoy being in my closet now and getting a lot more adventurous with my clothes!

Color Blocking Trend 2011

{Turquoise Dress:  a.n.a (JCPenny); Purple Cropped Cardigan: Charlotte Russe; Turquoise necklace: Won in this blog contest; Strappy Wedges: Soda; Wooden Earrings: Beals}

You may remember this dress from this outfit post I did on the beach and I’ve worn this little purple crop cardigan quite a few times during my 30×30 challenge.  I just didn’t occur to me until now that to wear these two together!

Turquoise Dress

 I love how deep and rich the colors are and when they’re put together it doesn’t feel overwhelming. A big remixing achievement for me I must say!

Purple Cardigan

 

Fun Fact:  The picture behind me has been in the family for at least 30 years.  It’s so cool because the entire background is made of small, dried butterfly wings.  That’s what gives it the light purple, reflecting effect in the picture.  Pretty neat huh??

 

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. love this color combo!!!

    Reply
  2. I love purple and turquoise together. Love how you anchored it with browns.

    Reply
  3. I love it!! Purple & blue are one of my favorite color combo’s. You look gorgeous, chica!!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  October 4, 2011

      Thank you girly! I never tried the purple and blue together but I kinda like it. 🙂

      Reply
  4. I love this outfit but help a sister out. What is color blocking? I’m about to learn something new!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  October 4, 2011

      No problem! Color Blocking is wearing two or more bold colors together as opposed to wearing one bold color and keeping everything neutral. Hope that helps! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Pretty neat is how well the purple and the blue goes so well together, and both lovely hues for Fall. The shoes you are rocking are winking at me by the way. I’m winking back. ❤
    the Citizen Rosebud

    Reply
    • Haha! You are too funny! I was very surprised how well the colors went. It’s like one of those “Why in the world didn’t I think of this combo before!” moments! So glad you liked it! 🙂

      Reply
  6. I love those colors together. Gives me an island vibe.

    Reply
  7. wfaye

     /  September 30, 2011

    Great color combination! Love the jewel colors. You are glowing in these colors. great ideal, l’m looking in my closet right now for color blocking. Thanks

    Reply
    • Thank you! Definitely have fun getting creative in your closet. You never know what you can come up with! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

