Fierce Natural Hair: Big and Beautiful

As I watch my natural hair do it’s thing, I’ve become so infatuated with natural hair styles.  I’m always on Tumblr getting inspired to try something new with my own hair.  Besides my resolutions I told you guys about on Monday, I also have a hair resolution.  By the time I go to New York Fashion Week in September, I want to rock big, bold Diana Ross, Foxy Brown natural hair!  I want it to be huge and fierce.  I’ve never worn my hair natural like this before and now that it’s been 5 months since becoming fully natural, I want to go all the way!  Having this goal is helping get through this awkward phase I’m going through with my hair as well as keep me motivated in maintaining this new, healthy hair.

I really hope I can reach my goal (my hair has been gaining length these past few months) but if by some reason it doesn’t, I can always get a wig!

Long Natural Hair

Source

Big Natural HairSource

Big Natural HairSource

Natural HairstylesSource

Taren Natural HairI LOVE Taren’s hair!  You have to check out her Youtube channel!

Source

Faux HawkSource

Do you ladies have any hair resolutions for 2012?

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Christine turner

     /  February 13, 2013

    What type of hair is it the girl in pic 4 has its beautiful.

    Reply
  2. Christine turner

     /  February 13, 2013

    What type of hair does picture 4 has its beautiful

    Reply
  3. lex

     /  February 1, 2012

    Source link to 4th pic isn’t working. Please fix as she’s my fav!

    Reply
  4. What did u use 2 make ur hair grow?

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 8, 2012

      Time and patience! LOL. In a nutshell, what I really think helped was the fact that I haven’t used any type of heat on it for months. This week was actually the first week I blow dried my hair since June. I do mostly wash and gos so I don’t have to mess with my hair so much. If you check out my Youtube channel I have a video on some of the products I use. 🙂

      Reply
  5. Yes!! I’m all for it- your hair is gonna be awesome 🙂

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 8, 2012

      Aww thank you Kara! I just blew it out over the weekend and it was a lot longer than I thought. This has made me very optimistic about reaching this goal!

      Reply
  6. I LOVE the new blog design, girl!! It looks sooo good. I’m not sure if I’m going to go to NYFW in September this year. It really depends on whats going on with my blog and stuff at the time, and of course, finances. We shall see!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 8, 2012

      Thank you Kirstin!! I’m keeping my fingers grossed for you so you can come with Kara and I!

      Reply
  7. LOVE big hair… so gorgeous, so fun and lively!!

    Reply
  8. Hey MJ, I’m just working toward my goal length of waist length for my lead hair and middle back for the rest that has to catch up LOL.

    I’m arm pit length when I pull the hair from the back to the front but it’s weird how much faster my left side grows than my right….like 2 inches faster! I cut it to match the right and it just takes off so I leave it now.

    I saw Taren at the Shea Moisture event in NY. Her hair is very short now. She cut it and keeps it wrapped up in a scarf. I don’t care for the Aunt Jemima look LOL but she likes it so that’s all that matter.

    Have you checked our Hair Crush’s channel? Now her hair is looooong. She doesn’t put up vids that often though.

    Now what’s with this Tumblr? Are there hairstyles there I can search out? I usually search for new styles on YouTube

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 8, 2012

      Good for you!! I really hope you reach that goal this year! Believe it or not, the back of my hair is growing faster than the very front while the crown hasn’t grown much. I blew out my hair over the weekend and the back of my hair has made it to the bottom of my neck in just 7 months so I’m very excited about that!

      I did see that Taren cut her hair and I think it suits her! I rock the scarf look too from time to time, especially on my lazy days.

      Girl go to tumblr and just type in natural hair and you’ll get a ton of pictures of different hair styles to get inspired from.

      Reply
  9. You and me both! I love the big bold fullness of afro curls, and to get that naturally would be amazing! Like you, I’m going to set myself a goal now so I can achieve this 😀

    Reply
  10. All of these women are beautiful. Good luck to you. While you are in new york for fashion week, I would like to connect over drinks or dinner.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 8, 2012

      Thank you! Meeting up in New York would be great! Let’s keep in touch (via Twitter is the best way to get at me!) and as it gets closer we can definitely make plans to hang out! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

