Beauty Blast: Orchid Oil from White Sands

Orchid Oil

Oils have become a big part of my hair regimen lately.  From using Olive Oil as a hot oil treatment to oil based products like this one from Carol Daughter stay in my hair rotation.   They’re great for natural curly hair which helps keep moisture in as well as give it great shine.  I would like to say that I’m pretty familiar with the types of oil that are great for your hair, but when I was asked to review Orchid Oil from White Sands, I didn’t know what to expect!  I never heard of this before and wanted to know more.

Orchid Oil, formulated with Bulbophyllum sp, an orchid flower extract, promises to

  • Restore your hairs moisture that has been depleted by chemical treatments, stress from heat, and UV/UVB exposure
  • Keep away the frizz and bring on the shine by closing the cuticle layer of your strands
  • Help define curls

I’ve used this oil for a few weeks now and one of the first things I loved about it was the fragrance.  This oil smells amazing, like a light flowery perfume, perfect for spring time.  The bottle looks like a perfume bottle too!  The oil itself looks thick but once it’s on your hair it’s really light without being greasy, especially when it’s wet. I did get a  great shine after using it but unfortunately it didn’t last all day, especially when I used it by itself.   My hair did stay moisturized when I used it  with my daily moisturizer especially over night.  As a matter of fact, I liked the oil much better when I used it with other products, sealing in the moisture that my other products without weighing my hair down.

All in all, I liked the Orchid Oil as a finishing product.

 

FTC Disclosure:  This product was received as a free sample.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. beastandbeauty

     /  January 18, 2012

    What other oild would you reccomend for curls? I like the look of this one but you can’t buy it in Australia. 😦

    I am having a make me an offer blog sale at the moment, pop over, say hi and score yourself a bargain!

    http://beastandbeauty.wordpress.com/2012/01/19/make-me-an-offer-beauty-blog-sale/

    M x

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 19, 2012

      For oil alternatives, you don’t need to look any further than your kitchen pantry! Olive oil is great for curls when used as a hot oil treatment before shampoo. Coconut Oil is great for keeping in moisture and diluted Tea Tree Oil is great for relieving a dry scalp.

      Hope this helps and thanks so much for stopping by!

      Reply
  2. Would have to try this oil. Always love viewing new products from you. I do love Carol’s Daughter’s products. 🙂

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 19, 2012

      Thank you!! I love Carol’s Daughter and I would buy everything from them if I could afford it all! LOL

      Reply
  3. Girl I wish I could use oils in my hair. My hair would become like an oil producing factory then – so disgusting. I actually use dry shampoo a lot to keep the oil slick down, and it helps tremendously.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 19, 2012

      You know what? I’ll take some of my hair dryness for some of your hair oiliness and we’ll be balanced out! LOL 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

