Beauty Look of the Day: It Ain’t Easy Being Green

Green eyeshadow

Beauty Blogger confession:  I haven’t made myself up in weeks.  Getting out of bed every  morning has proved to be a mission but after giving my makeup stash a good spring cleaning, I came across some goodies I haven’t used in awhile.  So I was inspired (for a few days anyways!)

I’ve been meaning to do a look with green shadow for awhile now, especially when I bought some shades from Ulta a few months back.  Blue and Pink has always been my favorite colors to play with but I wanted to see if I could pull this bold color off.  Life got crazy so I never got around to it so I used my new found motivation (and energy) to put together a day look using different shades of green.  I went with a really neutral lip gloss so I didn’t have too much going on.  I admit the eyes weren’t as bold as I wanted them to be but now that I’m really digging this color I’m the hunt for some shadows that will give me the deep pigmentation I want.

Green eyeliner

  • Ulta Eyeshadow in Verdigris on the eyelids
  • Ulta Eyeshadow in Envy in the creases and into the brow bone
  • Dark Green shadow from the Cool as a Cucumber Palette from Wet-n-Wild on the outer corners
  • Glimmersticks eye liner from Avon in Emerald
  • Buxom Mascara in black
  • Avon Cream blush
  • Glazewear lip gloss from Avon in Sweet Maple

Natural Hair

With my hair, I took a different approach from my usual wash and goes.  After using my leave in conditioner, I divided my hair into big sections.  I applied Shea Moisture’s Curling Smoothie, a little olive oil to seal in the moisture, and then the Curling Souflee from Shea Moisture to give my hair some hold.  After combing my hair out, I put each section into big loose twists and let my hair dry overnight.  Not only did doing this stretch my hair and give my hair a cute curl pattern, I found that my hair stayed moisturized much longer so I don’t have to use a lot of products throughout the week. Even on my laziest days I can pull this off and that gives this routine extra brownie points!

So wassup ladies?? How was your weekend?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Very Cute! Just enough color, but not overboard!

    Reply
  2. riamichelle

     /  April 11, 2012

    I think your hair looks great and if you’re looking for more pigmented eye shadow can I recommend Urban Decay. 🙂

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  April 12, 2012

      Urban Decay does have great shadows! Thanks for the recommendation!

      Reply
  3. Hey MJ. I love this color on you. It’s very soft looking 🙂
    Green is one of those colors that works really well in the spring and in the fall!

    Don’t miss the give away on my blog going on now. It’s for a $50 visa gift card!

    Reply
  4. cute look, love the headband

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

