Beauty Blast: Smashbox Shades of Fame Eye Palette

smashbox

Tis the season for bright and bold colors from fashion to makeup and I’m all in! Ya’ll know how passionate I am when it comes to eyeshadow so I was psyched when I got the chance to review the Shades of Fame Eye Palette from Smashbox.  Since I tried out their Hydrating Primer and eyeshadow trio, I’ve become a fan, even adding their tinted moisturizer to my beauty routine.  Opening up this cute, pink box I found a a nice combo of bold shades and great neutrals, all hand picked by Smashbox studio artists.  Along with the shadows were  two cream liners (in gold and bronze) as well as a mini bottle of their Photo Finish Lid primer.  Armed with their look book, double edged brush, and a little extra time on my hands, your girl had some fun the last few days!

Smashbox eyeshadow

Blue eyeshadow

Look 1:  Test Shoot

Out of the three different looks that came with the palette, this one by far was my favorite.  The blue shadow, Pacific, may have had a lot to do with it with a deep pigment that gave great color without using a lot of product.  I even liked how it looked on the lower lashline (which is a major accomplishment for me by the way!)  The light, neutral Bliss shadow gave the look the balance it needed.  To finish the look I went with my favorite summer shade – Tempted from CoverGirl.

 

Brown Eyeshadow

 

Makeup

Look 2:  Meet the Photographer

With this one, I got a chance to use Sherbert, a yummy coral color that delivered on my lids.  What didn’t work as well as Praline and Nude on my lower lashline, which I wasn’t too crazy about against my complexion.  I also had to improvise a little and add Mocha to the brow bone to give the look a little extra something.  The lip color I used was Downtown Brown from Mary Kay.

 

Natural Look

 

Foundation

Look 3:  Casting Call

Just by looking at the colors I was using I didn’t think this was going to work for me and I kinda proved myself right.  It’s a good day look, the neutral colors used very soft and natural.  However it was kind of boring for me, finding it hard to tell the colors apart.  I kept the look au natural with my Sweet Raisin Lip Gloss from Mary Kay.

Overall, the palette has a great assortment of colors and I’m already imagining the different combinations I can come up with on my own.  The primer worked great at keeping my shadow on all day long (which is a must in the summer!), however I wasn’t crazy about the primer itself.  Instead of going on clear, like the Hydrating Primer for foundation, it goes on as a beige color on my lids leaving them a bit too bright for me.

 

Are you a fan of Smashbox?  What are your favorite products?

 

Check out my five beauty essentials on Yahoo! Shine!

 

First Photo courtesy of: Smashbox

FTC Disclosure:  Palette and primer were received as free samples.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. kirstinmarie

     /  May 23, 2012

    That palette looks amazing!! I love the looks you did. They look great on you!! Hope your doing well, miss you! xo

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  May 25, 2012

      Miss you too girly!! This palette is awesome. I’m sure you’ll love it!

      Reply
  2. I love smashbox. And, hello, your skin looks amazing! The blue shadow is nice but let’s talk about that lipstick. Love the color against your skin. we love your blog at http://www.beyondblackbeauty.com

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  May 25, 2012

      Thank you!! It’s one of my fav lip colors for the summer

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

