Friend Friday: Blogging Community

Photo source

 

Whoohooo!! It’s Friday and I’m pretty excited about today’s FBFF topic.  It’s all about blogging communities and what role they play (and are supposed to play) in the blogosphere.  I started thinking about this when I read this article on IFB about the decline of interaction in comments on blogs despite no loss in readership.  I thought it was something that was just happening to me, especially with everything going on in my personal life.  I think the same goes for blogging communities as well, including the FBFF community.  I was a part of the group in the early stages and one thing I loved (and missed!) were the informational conversations and discussions we would have amongst each other via our blogs, twitter, and the early days of the Google group.  We tackled issues like sizing, blogger jealousy, buying knock offs- you name it!  I loved it, I thrived on it.  It always kept me thinking and improving my writing and blog.

So what happened to our blogging communities and our interactions amongst our peers?  That’s what today’s questions are all about!

What blogging communities do you belong to?

I belong to Independent Fashion Bloggers, and Friend Beauty and Fashion Friday.  I also belonged to Full Time Fabulous for awhile.

What do you think the roll of community is in blogging?

I think a community is supposed to be a place where bloggers can come together and talk.  Talk about any issues we’re having and pick the brains of those who can help us.  Talk about any hot issues that are going on in industry and the fashion/beauty blogosphere.  Talk about the latest trends.  It’s supposed to be a place where we can come together and talk with other people that”get” what we do.  It is a place for me where I can talk about blogging, get excited, and try out new ideas, and get feedback.

 
Blog comments, twitter interactions and meaningful Facebook threads have decreased in the last several months. What are your thoughts on why that is?

One reason I think this has happened is the sprouting up of new mediums that we can use to promote our blogs – like Pinterest and Instagram.  They are our new shiny toys and the time that I think we could be spending on intereacting we’re using to pin and take photos.  I don’t think they are bad social tools (I use both of them!).  I just think it’s another thing to add to our blogging plates and we simply may not have enough time to interact like we used to.

Another reason I think is just the rising popularity of blogging.  I’ve noticed a huge surge in new bloggers from the time I started three years ago to now and it’s amazing!  Who can halfway blame them, with the rise of bloggers in commercials and magazine spreads.  At the same time, you have so many new people in the mix and many of them may not understand just how important it is to interact, comment, and get involved in meaningful conversations.  Many of them are more concerned with getting their names out there – hence the many (too many) threads on forums like IFB and FBFF that are just about promoting giveaways and “follow me” posts.  Honestly, it’s this flood of these type of posts that has pushed me away from getting on these forums.  I get annoyed because it seems they don’t understand that growing your blog isn’t about always promoting yourself.  Getting involved in the community and being an active and contributing member will help you grow your blog.

 

How do you cultivate community around your blog?

I try to get back to talking and writing about things that I can spark conversation.  Whether it’s tackling the concept of body image or just asking what’s in your beauty bag, I want to give my readers a chance to comment and share their thoughts.  I still  comment on other people’s blogs and make sure they are as meaningful and thoughtful as I can.

 

If you could make one resolution to be a better community member what would it be?

To get involved again like I used to and do my part to get it back to the community I used to know and I love.  Like I said before, I’ve become disenchanted with the communities I belonged to and maybe if people like me who miss those conversations we used to have start talking again, we can get it back to the place that it needs to be.

 

 

I would LOVE to hear your thoughts on this!  What is a blogging community to you?  What do you think has led to the decline in blogger interaction?

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Great post – I wanted to do this one but didn’t have time! I can only speak from my own experience in that my life got stupidly busy and so my blogging time has been cut down drastically as a result. So I don’t get the time to write, post, read and comment as much as I did. I still try and come back when I can but like you say the amount of blogs out there is unbelievable – there’s almost an oversaturation and it can be overwhelming to the point where you tune out a bit. And we just can’t spend all day on the internet tweeting, pinning, facebooking and blogging or we wouldn’t get anything done!

    Reply
  2. You make some good points here. I absolutely agree that the rise in blogging popularity has lowered the amount of interaction. It seems like a contradictory statement, but it’s oh-so-true! With the amount of blogs I read now, it’s hard to find time to comment on all of them. I will say, though, that deleting my personal Facebook has helped me immensely in finding time to connect with readers.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 9, 2012

      I’m starting to wonder if having a Facebook fan page is even worth it anymore. Now with that new “Pay to promote” thing they implemented, it makes it even harder to reach the people who’ve already liked your page. And you’re right, there are a lot of new blogs, it is hard to keep up. Let’s see how many of them really stick around though.

      Reply
  3. Interesting point about “shiny new things”… I’m sure there’s a mixture of reasons. I wrote about a post about my frustrations with the community last month and touched on several of these things; however, I felt like majority of the reason was of egos. When I try to organically to talk to people, I hardly get a response but when I do the obnoxious promoting, I get more reactions :/ Don’t know what the reason is behind that one. I’ve been trying to disconnect myself once in awhile so I don’t feel too disheartened. Hope those ego maniac bloggers who do it for fame or money (although that RARELY happens) will fade away and the true bloggers will be left standing 🙂

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 9, 2012

      In the end the true bloggers will be the only ones left standing. Those who are in it for the wrong reasons will not last because what they want won’t come to fruition and they’ll die out. Always happens that way.

      Reply
  4. I went from Katy’s blog to here and loved reading your answers too. It’s true there are so many mediums for letting everyone know you’ve put up a new post or sharing images/newsworthy gossip/fashion etc… or even replying via twitter after reading a blog post.
    It’s insane the amount of new bloggers entering blogosphere – feels like i’ve still got my old usual blog buds and gained some new ones in the blogging community over the years, which is really nice. Especially being in Greece it’s been hard to get respect from Greek bloggers/community, since I write in English (am not Greek either), but everyone has been welcoming – it’s been great – I love the blogging community and would rather have a good discussion/conversation/interaction than higher pageviews and stats -that’s not what it’s about for me.
    Have a good weekend lady!
    x.o.x.o

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 8, 2012

      I’m with you! I’m all about meaningful conversation and interaction. I think that’s really key in not only a blog’s success but it’s longetivity too. I’d rather have a steady growth than spikes here and there because a post of mine was retweeted or what have you.

      It is amazing how many bloggers are on the scene these days and it’s really nice to have my old buddies (like you!) still around to chat with!

      Have an awesome weekend girly!

      Reply
  5. there has been a steady decline in comments/meaninful interaction…..i wonder if a lot of it has to do with google friend connect being disabled from blogs that weren’t blogger because i seem to remember more comments before that so many may not be connected to as many blogs as before

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 8, 2012

      You know, that could have something to do with it. I know that Google connect used to make things easier for people on blogger to comment. I never really had it so I can’t say that’s the issue for me, but I can definitely see how that contributes to this decline.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

