Beauty Look of the Day: Taking Risks

Smashbox

Confession:  I’ve been getting pretty boring when it came to my makeup lately.  Part of it was sheer laziness and the other part was I just wasn’t inspired.  I’ve fallen into a routine, reaching for the same colors and applying them in the same way I had been for quite awhile now.  Your girl needed to step it up  so I went internet surfing to find some new beauty blogs and tutorials to get my makeup creative juices going.  That’s when I came across the Makeup Geek.  I’ve read her blog before a long time ago but never really kept up.  So I got it on my blog reader and not too long after, she posted a weekly challenge.  The challenge was to use the colors yellow, purple, and teal to create a summer look.  Those were colors I’ve never used together and I even went out to buy yellow shadow.  I had no idea how I was going to pull it off, but I was super excited about it. After browsing my Pinterest beauty board, I had an idea and this is what I came up with!

Eyeshadow

Eyes:

1.  Instead of going with the purple on the lid, which is what I would normally do, I went in with the teal, or Pacific from Smashbox.  Using my medium sized flat brush, I packed on the color so I could make my lids pop.

2.  Using my new pencil brush from Eco Tools, I used a purple shade from Wet N Wild’s ColorIcon palette and smudged it along my lower lash line.  This was a challenge for me because I never use color on my lower lash line but I think I did a pretty decent job for a newbie!

3.  Time for the third color, yellow which I used from Covergirl’s Blazing Blues Palette.  With my blending brush from Mary Kay, I swept the color along my brow bone to give a subtle hint of color.

4.  To finish it off, I used Wet N Wild’s liquid eyeliner (which is awesome by the way!)  to create a thin line along my upper lash line and the corners. I gave my lashes some color and volume using Buxom’s Mascara.

lipstick

Lips

I was going to go with a sublte lipstick or gloss but your girl was on a roll so I went all the way!  I kept it bright and playful with CoverGirl’s LipPerfection Lip Color in Tempted.

Granted, I didn’t have the winning look but what I did get was a totally out of the box look that I would never have tried otherwise!  And you know what, I really liked it!  I rocked it all day and I must say, I felt quite glamorous!

How are you playing with makeup this summer?

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. LOVE that bold lip, lady!

    Reply
  2. kirstinmarie

     /  June 22, 2012

    Oh my goodness – you look so beautiful! I love these colors on you. They seriously make your beautifulness sing out!

    Reply
  3. I love the lippy! I’m trying to step out of my comfort zone and just brighter colors now that it’s summer. I’m currently loving the neon lip trend. You’ve inspired me to try out the teal eye color! 🙂

    Reply
  4. i love the lip color! good on you for stepping outside your box 😀

    Reply
  5. Fajr

     /  June 21, 2012

    Love the eyes, very sultry!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

