Taking Time to Regroup (and What to Do in the Meantime)

Bora, Bora.

Wish I could take a break here! *sigh*

Source

As you may have noticed, I’ve been a little MIA lately.  Life with a little one has proven a little crazier than I thought and with the holidays around the corner it’s even more crazy! (Ask me if I’ve started Christmas shopping yet! LOL) Though we are finally settling into somewhat of a routine, I find myself a little stuck.

I’m feeling very uninspired.

When I finally have the time to sit down and do a post, I just don’t know what to say.  When the words finally do come out, it sounds so blah!  The perfectionist in me would not let me put out anything than my best and you guys definitely deserve my A game every time you visit here.  So I’m taking my own advice, and allowing myself a break until the New Year.   As a type this, I feel the bloggers guilt just gnawing at me but as with all things we love, when we get in a rut, we have to take a step back and regroup.

So with this time off, I’m going to get a head start on getting ready for the new year.  My planner is already in hand and I’ll be doing things that will get me off on the right foot in January, such as:

  • Brainstorming a list of possible posts.  Lists like this one get the creative juices flowing as well as continuing to visit my favorite blogs and pinning like crazy on Pinterest. Doing non-blog related things like going sightseeing and getting together with friends can also spark ideas.
  • Getting my editorial calendar together.  Once I have my ideas, it’s time to plan them out.
  • Schedule posts ahead of time.  With the pressure of not posting like I want to now, I can work on blog posts for later so when January 1st gets here, my blog is up and running (and my blogger heart will feel a whole lot better!)
  • Keeping up on Social Media.  Thank goodness for my phone!  Staying in the loop with Twitter and Facebook not only keeps me in the know of what’s going on but also helps me keep in my touch with my blogging friends, who are always a source of inspiration for me!
  • Taking notes.  Ideas can strike at the weirdest of times (for me, it’s when I’m half asleep!) so writing them down helps me remember them for later.  Also, taking photos of awesome outfits or bookmarking a beauty look I come across online may prove handy later too!

Before I sign off until January, I hope you ladies have an awesome holiday season!  Spend this time with your family and friends and have fun!

Have you ever been stuck in a rut?  What helps you when you’re feeling uninspired?

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. You definitely deserve a break, my friend!! I hope you and your family have an amazing holiday season and a happy new year! Hope to see you soon. xoxo

    Reply
  2. Hi hun, I know I have been there before, and have taken time off. lately, I’ve been inspired so much by the piles of fabric in my trunks. haha! Ever since my work schedule has changed I decided to only do posts when I can (it comes down to two or three times a week, but sometimes less.) I think we know what’s best at times, because of what’s happening in our lives, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with taking time off when you need it. Wishing you a wonderful and happy holiday. xx/Madison

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 2, 2013

      You are right! Life can totally get in the way but that’s okay! It happens 🙂

      Reply
  3. A very merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and your family! I bet your little one is enjoying this time of the year.
    I know it’s sometimes hard to keep up with blogging, commenting, writing and compiling bits for a new post, especially when you’re feeling uninspired.

    Love what you’ve got planned ahead, a calendar does help, but only if you stick to. I’m only trying to do 2 posts a week as I don’t have much time on my hands. A break will do wonders lady and I can’t wait to see you back in the New Year!
    x.o.x.o

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  January 2, 2013

      It was tough but the time off was exactly what I needed! Can’t wait to jump in this New Year. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

