Beauty Look of the Day: Brown Sparkle

Makeup

Though I love experimenting with every color eye shadow under the sun, I do have my days where I just want a nice daytime look.  My Natural Eye Palette gets plenty of love from me so I wanted to use some of my other neutral shadows. I was heading out to a baby shower and my outfit was cute and casual, so I wanted my beauty look to be the same way.   I dug around my stash and found this sparkly brown shadow from Milani so I was excited to use it!  There’s always room for sparkle, even in the daytime!

brown Eyeshadow
Face:

The baby shower was outside so I didn’t want anything too heavy but would control the shine.  So I went with Avon’s Cream to Powder Foundation in Cocoa, finishing with my favorite press powder from Covergirl.

Eyes:
  1. As I mentioned before, I used Milani’s Runway Eyes in Bronze Doll as a highlight color on the lids.  It has great color and a subtle sparkle that I love.  Even you want even more depth of color, you can apply it with a wet brush.
  2. To help this gorgeous bronze color stand out, I swept Sue Devitt’s shadow in Burma, a matte chocolate shade in the creases and brow bone.
  3. I thought a black liner would be too much, so I went for Avon’s Everlasting liquid liner in dark brown.  The thin line along the upper lash line opened my eyes up even more.
  4. I finished up with Maybelline’s Colossal Volume Mascara in black.
Lips:

I wanted a natural looking gloss with a touch of shimmer, so I used Avon’s Everlasting Lip Gloss in Apple Cinnamon.

Natural Hair Updo

My little girl totally dictated this hair style.  She is at the stage where she wants to reach up and grab everything, including my hair so it gets put up a lot more often.  I didn’t want to do my standard puff, so I gave myself a little mini bump in the front.  I spritzed my hair with water and used Shea Moisture’s Curling Souffle for hold and shine. And oh, can I just say that the dreaded postpartum hair shedding has stopped! Halleluiah!   I would have a Chia pet after every hair wash. So gross!  My thinning edges are starting to grow in, thanks to applying a little caster oil after washing my hair.  Works wonders I tell you!

 

If you’re looking for a great date night look, check out my tutorial on Yahoo! Shine!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. So beautiful! I love your eye makeup!

    Reply
  2. You look nice. I am experimenting for the first time with eye shadow. Long time ago I was a eye liner and lipstick at the most kind of girl. I put my make up on for the first time yesterday and I was quite proud of myself. My youngest son who lives nonchalantly gave me a ma that looks nice on you instead of the usual its ok. I may try various colors as well. Thx for the idea.

    Reply
  3. Lady you look beautiful! I love your make up – it’s such a nice natural look. Missing you so much!! Froyo date soon!! xo

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  March 2, 2013

      Thank you lady! Miss you too! We definitely need another froyo date 🙂

      Reply
  4. You are just a glowing ray of sunshine here! I love golden eye makeup and adore the colourful scarf on you! Beautiful. xx

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  March 2, 2013

      Thanks love! I don’t know why I haven’t used this shade more often 🙂

      Reply
  5. Love the bit of shimmer you’ve added to an otherwise natural look – and love your big earrings!

    Reply
  6. Megan, The Frugalista Diaries

     /  February 27, 2013
    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

