Beauty Look of the Day: Earthy Tones

African American beauty

It’s so easy to fall into a beauty rut – using the same products, colors, and combinations over and over again.  They’re tried and true, you know what you’re gonna get, and you don’t have to think about it.  Staying true to my New Year’s Resolutions, I’m trying to amp things up in the style department.  After rocking my first colorblocking shirt, I wanted an equally new makeup look to go with it.  Bright, earthy  colors was what I wanted to use so I dug through my makeup stash and found some colors I hadn’t used in quite awhile!

Makeup

Face:

Eyes:

  • To give my eye color a little lift, I applied NYX Eyeshadow Base in pearl.  It gives any eyeshadow you use a little more depth of color with a touch of shimmer.
  • Then I went ot the only orange shadow I had, also from NYX in Hot Orange.  I hardly use it because it didn’t give me the deep color I wanted (it looks  so promising in the packaging)  I thought that the base would amp it up but sadly it didn’t.  So I had to go over it with Smashbox’s Sherbert* for more highlighting action.
  • I stayed in the Smashbox palette *and applied Honey into the creases and bleneded out into the browbone.
  • For the outer creases I used dark Cocoa.
  • I finished up with Neutrogena’s mascara* in black.

Lips

Maybelline Lipstick in Copper Charm.  I had to be careful putting this on.  The color is really bright for my skin tone and if I put too much on I would look totally crazy!

Natural Hair

Hair

Yeah, I was totally lazy on this one. I dunno, I’m getting a little uninspired with my hair these days.  I’m trying to find a style that’s new, cute, and doesn’t require hours in front of the mirror.   Anyways,  I did my standard puff, spritzing my curls with Coconut Curling Milk* diluted with water and my Curling Souflee for shine and hold.  Ladies I’m all open for hair suggestions! 🙂

 For jewelry details, check out last week’s Fierce OOTD.

*These products were free samples received previously for review

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. bohocadence

     /  March 17, 2013

    Wow, you look very beautiful! And earthy tones look very stunning!

    Reply
  2. Earth tones are gorgeous especially looks great on you. I like a more natural look for summer too. Love that colour blocked orange top and those patterned earrings too, MJ. Enjoy your coming week. /Madison

    Reply
  3. You look beautiful! I love that orange shirt against your skin tone. It really works for you. The eye shadow really pulls together the orangey/natural look. 🙂 I didn’t know Neutrogena sold mascara. What’s your experience with it?

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  March 13, 2013

      Thank you so very much! I like their mascara a lot. It’s great for the everyday look.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

