Beauty Look of the Day: Maybelline Painted Me Purple

Makeup

After having this on my beauty wish list for like ever, I finally went out and bought Maybelline’s Color Tattoo 24hour cream gel eyeshadow.  I’m a sucker for high pigment at a drug store price and with the summer around the corner. Cream shadows are perfect for the hot weather down here and I’m ready for full on color! I really wanted Fierce and Tangy, an intense orange color that the darker skin model wore in their commercial.  I don’t have a real orange shadow but unfortunately they were all out.  So I went for Painted Purple, a brighter version of the color family that don’t have too much of in my beauty stash.  After putting this look together, I don’t know why I waited so long to buy it!  The color intensity is amaze and can practically carry a great eye makeup look all by itself!

Cream Eyeshadow

Face

  • Avon Cream to Powder Foundation* (yeah, I don’t expand my foundation horizons too much!)
  • CoverGirl concealer under the eyes
  • CoverGirl Press Powder for my shiny T-zone
  • Stila Convertible Color in Poppy on my cheeks

Eyes

  • Painted Purple was going to be the star of the show, so with a small, stiff brush I applied it all over my eyelids, using my finger to blend.  The shadow goes on really easy and you don’t need a lot to get that bold color you want.
  • For the crease and brow bone, I used the dark purple color from Wet-N-Wild’s Cool as a Cucumber palette.  I just dusted it on to keep the color soft and complimentary
  • Big color needs a crisp liner so I whipped out Wet N Wild’s Mega Liner in black, applying a think line on the upper lash lines to  make my eyes pop some more.
  • For Mascara I used NYC Big Bold Mascara.  It’s becoming a favorite of mine for big, bold lashes.

Lips

Avon’s Glazewear LipGloss Intense in Crimson*

flat twist

Hair:

In the last BLOTD, I told you guys I was getting a little bored with my hair.  So going through some old posts, I came across this hairstyle that I haven’t done in a while.  Not only is it easy to do, it held up for a few days which is a big plus for me!

  • On freshly washed and moisturized hair, part your hair in half.  For a little pizzaz, do a little side part in the front.
  • Start flat twisting your hair, twisting down taking little bits of hair at a time.
  • My hair in the back is softer and thicker in the back and with twists it unravels easier.  So I stopped twisting finished up with a braid.
  • That’s it!

 

What eyeshadow do you use for bold eye color?

 

*These products were previously received as free samples for review

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I have this too! Not the purple one though. I have that burgundy looking color It doesn’t stain as deep as I’d like though. I may need to apply it with a wet brush for more pigmentation

    Reply
  2. Wow, it so doesn’t look like a cream gel eyeshadow – does it crease in the fold after long wear? Looking pretty in lilac doll! Hmm, I do love Mac eyeshadow for boldness and colour, but ages ago I picked up a palette from H&M with lots of bold summer colours & it was a bargain too!

    Thanks for your comment, I have been wearing some maternity things, but the over the bump jeans from GAP is not v comfy anymore, so leggings it is! As for tops, I’ve gone to H&M to get some Maternity basic jersey longline tops… but I just wanted some fashion!
    x.o.x.o

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  April 10, 2013

      No, it didn’t crease on me at all and didn’t fade either as I wore it throughout the day.

      Girl I hear u! When you’re that far along you still want to look cute (and be comfy!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

