Beauty Look of the Day: The Bright Lips Have It!

Makeup Tips

When I thought of what I wanted to do for today’s Beauty Look, the first thing that came to mind was bright lipstick!  I haven’t rocked it in awhile, having too much fun with  eye makeup.  After looking through my newly organized makeup drawers (yes, that’s plural!) I pulled out this CoverGirl Lip Perfection Shade called Eternal.  I bought it awhile back and I never really wore it since.  Such a bummer because it’s such a gorgeous shade not too pink and not to red that’s perfect for the summer.  Better late than never I guess!

After prepping my face with primer, foundation, and all that I put the lipstick on to help me figure out what to do with the eyes.  I didn’t want to do my normal thick liner and mascara (too safe!) so I had to find shadow that was in the pink family with a soft but noticeable look.  Pulling out the drawer with all my palettes, I found one I bought at ULTA ages ago.  The colors were perfect but I knew that it needed some help in the pigment department.  So out came the  eyeshadow base and all was right with the world!

Discount Makeup Products

Face:

  • SmashBox Photo Finish Hydrating Primer*
  • Mary Kay Medium Coverage Foundation
  • Covergirl Concealer
  • Mary Kay Mineral Cheek Color* in Citrus Bloom

Eyes:

  • Using my finger, I applied NYX Eyeshadow Base in Pearly White all over the lid
  • Next I pressed ULTA Eyeshadow in Mystical all over my lids.
  • I swept Flirty from the same quad in the creases and brow bone to brighten things up while keeping it neutral
  • For a little shimmer, I dabbed Pink (from the same quad) in the arches of my eyebrows.
  • To make my eyes pop I used Wet n Wild’s Mega Liquid Liner in black, applying a thin line across the upper lash line
  • I finished it off with Mary Kay’s Lash Love Mascara* in black

Lips:

CoverGirl LipPerfection Lip Color in Eternal

Type 4 Natural Hair

Hair:

If you follow me on Instagram, you saw that I went to the salon and got a much needed trim.  I didn’t have a lot of split ends thank goodness (I’m always paranoid about those!) but I did have a lot of fuzzy ends that needed to go.  After all, the last time my hair was professionally cut was over 2 years ago.  While I did lose a bit of length it doesn’t compare to what I gained.  My hair has shape and my curls have some serious definition, especially in the back!  I thought it was just the type of curls I had back there but it was just those dead ends holding them back.  After a good wash and deep condition, I can truly see the curls I’ve been working with.  I also got some highlights done.  They’re kind of hard to see because I chickened out and went super safe, opting for little bursts of light brown here and there.  As for any adverse affects of the color, the only thing I’m experiencing is increased dryness and frizz action up top.  My hair dresser warned me though so I’ll be sticking to a deep conditioning schedule and moisturizing my hair before bed.

 

What about you ladies?  Are you changing up your look for Fall?

 

*FTC Disclosure:  These products were received previously for review.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Othelia

     /  August 2, 2013

    You look absolutely gorge(ous). Your makeup looks great, but I especially love the hair since I am also a natural. What did you use on it in these pics because your hair looks very healthy, the curls are defined, but also shiny and moist-something I am trying to still achieve. Is it still those Organix products you mentioned if so it’s doing a great job.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  August 2, 2013

      Thank you so much! Yes I’m still using Organix. What helped with the definition was the good trim I received last weekend. To help with shine and moisture I spritz on a little water and put on Shea Moisture’s Curling Souflee in the a.m. Hope that helps! 🙂

      Reply
  2. I love your beauty tips Margaret! I have a MAJOR confession: I have lots of make-up but NEVER use it! :O Shocking, I know, but I’ve always had this thing about not wanting to feel like I have make-up on and most of the products I have are good enough to make me not feel that way because I’ve had my make-up done by professional artists using the same products but I get lazy or am always running too late to stand in front of the mirror an do it up right. Do you have any tips for a) make-up virgins such as myself and b) on how to apply make-up in a non-time consuming manner and still have it look beautiful?

    I love Smashbox and also am OBSESSED with The Balm. Have you used any of their products? Really great post! ♥

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  August 2, 2013

      Thank you! I love Smashbox too and I haven’t heard of The Balm. I have to check them out.

      You gave me a great idea for a future post with your question! Be on the look out for it. 🙂

      Reply
      • Yay! Thanks girl! I miss you! We need to get together sometime. Send me a PM on FB and let me know where you are so I can see if I can’t get over to you one weekend since we’re in the same State. I’ll be on the look-out for your post! Do check The Balm out! They have such kitschy flair! 😉 xx

      • MJ

         /  August 2, 2013

        Will do!

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

