Beauty Look of The Day: Riding Out the Last Days of Summer

Red Lipstick

For today’s look I was originally inspired by the new Wet N Wild Palette I bought the other day on a trip to Walgreens.  It’s their Photo Op Eyeshadow from the Fergie Center Stage Collection in Maldives Sky.  What first drew my eye was the circular packaging, which was a big step away from their normal rectangular palettes.  Next were the beautiful turquoise shades.  It screamed summer to me, a season I’m still reluctant to let go of.  Combined with dark purple and blue shades I could use this product well into the Fall.

I was ready to put those summer colors to work – only to be disappointed.  The pigmentation was way off, not delivering anywhere near the depth of color I saw in the compact.  I still wanted to rock these colors and  I remembered my Smashbox Shades of Fame Collection*.    I already use a lot of the neutral colors but it’s been awhile since I wore the shade Pacific, which is just as tropical blue as the name suggests.  From there, I pictured sandy beaches and Caribbean getaways, counting down the days to summer’s end!

Beauty Tips

Face

  • Mary Kay Medium Coverage Foundation
  • Revlon Photo Ready Concealer
  • CoverGirl Press Powder
  • Mary Kay Mineral Cheek Color in Citrus Bloom*

Eyes

  • The shade Pacific was going to take center stage, so I pressed it all over my lids with a small flat brush
  • Using a pencil brush, I applied the dark turquoise shadow from the Wet n Wild Palette in the creases.
  • To keep the color controlled, I swept Mocha* from the Smashbox Collection in the brow bone.
  • For liner, I used Wet N Wild’s Mega Liquid Liner in black.  I applied a very thin line, staying as close to the upper lash line as possible.
  • To finish it off, I swept one coat of Avon’s Super Extend Infinite Mascara* in black.

Lips

What’s summer without my CoverGirl LipPerfection Lip Color, especially my old time favorite shade, Tempt!

Natural Hair Style for Black Women

Hair

I’ve been having a kind of love/hate relationship with my hair.  Lately the back of my hair has been feeling extra dry and coarse .  I’ve been deep conditioning every other week and even did a cowash two days ago.   I don’t know if my hair is going through changes or what but I’ve been a bit frustrated.  The shrinkage has also been kinda of crazy!  To help with that, I braided just the back last night using Organix Moisture Restore Weightless Oil.  I found that helped out a little but I’m still baffled by the difference in texture that’s going on back there.  As for the rest of my hair, it’s doing pretty good with the new moisturizer I’m using.  On that same Walgreens shopping trip, I bought Motions Hydrate My Curls Pudding.  It’s light, doesn’t leave my hair greasy, and keeps my hair moisturized for most of the day.

 

How are you spending these last days of summer?

 

*FTC Disclosure:  This product was received previously as a free sample for review.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 880 other followers

  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!

