Ladies Show your Curves Plenty of Love and Fashion!

From one curvy lady to another, it can be a challenge to shop for clothes sometimes! You don’t know how many times I would see the cutest shirt or the sexiest pair of pants to find out that a size 16 is nonexistent! Even as I spend this season trend watching and wanting to try the latest everything, I come down to Earth to realize that a style may only work if I’m a size 4.

So what’s a curvy girl to do?

Well we first have to realize that we don’t have to be a one-digit size to look good. Losing weight may be the solution for some (though being healthy should be first and foremost before focusing on dropping pounds) while others just love being the curvy girl they are! I myself have adopted a healthy lifestyle (once again!) which includes hitting the gym 3 to 4 times a week and watching what I eat. However, no matter how much weight I lose, I can never be smaller than a size 12 (I was that size in elementary school!). So here are some tips I use when it comes to shopping and finding that right outfit.

the avenue 1Accentuate the positives:

Instead of beating yourself up about the things you don’t like about your body, find the things you do like! Love your bust? V necks, halters, and even strapless numbers can work for you. These are great if you love showing off those arms and sexy shoulders. I love to layer my clothing, such as wearing a cute cami under a cute button down shirt or jacket.  Have an hourglass figure? Find outfits that are tailored and show off those lovely curves! Sheath dresses are great! Got fabulous legs? Then get those stretch jeans or jeggings if you’re feeling adventurous!

Minimize the negatives

So now that you know what you love about yourself, what do you do to minimize those spots you’re not so crazy about? Have a belly that you would rather not show off? Make sure you stay away from tops that hug the midsection. Empire tops and dresses that accentuate your bust but hangs loosely the rest of the way down work great at covering that up. On the flip side, a top that doesn’t get snug until it hits your waist can work as well. Want to cover up those arms until that strength training pays off? Tops with flutter sleeves are awesome! The gist is to not wear anything that hugs you’re problem spots! baby phat 1

Pay attention to your body and not the size

A mantra that I always live by is: “Just because it comes in your size, does not mean it’s meant for you!” An outfit that comes in your size does not mean it is flattering on you, so when in doubt, try it on (remembering tips one and two!). Also, don’t get hung up on the size! A 12 in one store may be a 14 in another. Each company has their own sizing system. For instance, I was dress shopping for a wedding this past winter and the dress I bought was a 14W. Though I wear a 16, that size was too big up top and too tight on the sides. The 14W fit perfect. Besides, the only one who knows the size is you, right?

Invest in good undergarments

If you are a busty lady like me, you have to invest in good bras. Whether it’s a sports bra, a minimizer, or a strapless, the amount of adequate support can make or break any outfit you put on. Love what shapewear can do for you? Get good ones! If it doesn’t hold you in or smooth everything out, you should probably ditch it!

dereon 1Think beyond the traditional department stores

Though I love JCPenny, Macy’s, and Sears, I also check out those stores that specially cater to plus size women. Don’t get it twisted though! We’re not talking about mumus and elastic waistbands! I love going to Ashley Stewart and The Avenue. I have girlfriends who swear by Lane Bryant. Clothing stores such as Baby Phat, Dereon, and Forever 21 (aka Faith 21) carry plus size clothing in their online stores. I also heard that Torrid was a great place to shop as well!

So my curvy ladies, let’s dish! What tips and advice do you use when it comes to dressing for those fabulous curves? 

Calling all my Fashionistas!

 Lorena Sarbu talks about her red carpet designs

 What’s hot in urban wear!

 Have fun with the Boyfriend Tee from Bluefly!

 High Fashion at Low Prices with the Rachel Rachel Roy collection

Photos courtesy of:  www.cwtv.com, The Avenue, Baby Phat, Dereon

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Oh I’m hearing you! But I’ve got the problem where my bust is big, but not much else is!! So frustrating!!! But I can’t seem to find ANY nice clothes that fit my body perfectly *sigh*

    Reply
  2. Many people don’t concentrate on the positives. They concentrate on the negatives and fail at the end of the day. It is a good advice to build on your positives. Lingerie advice sounds good.

    Reply
    • fiercebeautyandfashion

       /  November 10, 2009

      Thank you very much! I know I can fall into the trap of finding everything wrong with me so I always try to remember to think positive! Lingerie is a big thing for me and one of the few things I don’t think twice about spending a lot of money on! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 881 other subscribers
  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!