My Wedding Recap: The Wedding Hair and Hair Accessories

I’m officially back ladies!! I really did miss you guys and I just couldn’t wait to get back and dish the details of my big day!

On Saturday, April 24th, I married my soul mate and best friend at the Inverrary Golf and Country Club in Fort Lauderdale, FL.  The weather was a little on the hot side (84 degrees) but the sun was out, the sky was clear, and it was a gorgeous Florida day!  My ceremony was held outside on the club’s terrace and the reception was inside in their Crystal ballroom.

One of the first things I had to tell you girls about was (of course!) the hair!  So here we go!

 

Bridesmaids

I wanted my girls to look and feel comfortable in their hair!  They all have beautiful hair so they just had nice, loose curls.  To give their looks a unique and tropical feel, I gave them all a beautiful flower to wear to match their dresses (which you will have to stay tuned to this blog series to see!)  It was a chore to find that exact color, so my mom bought white flowers and dyed them!

 

Bridal Hair

Ladies, let me tell you…it took me forever to figure out how I was wearing my hair.  I was first drawn to something cool and unique but then I had to realize that a wedding wasn’t the place to try an outrageously cool hairstyle!  Thanks to my wonderful hair dresser (who also happened to be my seamtress!), she came up with this look and it was absolutely perfect!

We went with the side part because I always wear a side part! LOL.  To give my hair substance in the updo, she used clip-in extensions from Milky Way.  She first curled each piece with a big barrel curling iron before clipping them into my hair.  Each piece of the extension has a little come that you stick onto the hair roots and then it clips in place.  Then she pinned the curls with the rest of my hair that was curled, leaving two, long curly strands hanging down.  She constantly sprayed my hair with a hair spray called Freeze It  ($9.44 at Walmart). Through the sun of the ceremony and pictures, and a few hours of dancing, my hair didn’t move an inch!

I always wanted a tiara for my wedding and bridal stores were charging up to $120 or so for one!  So I took my time shopping around and a month before the wedding, I scored this tiara at a local hair shop for a crazy $10 and that baby is still glittering! LOL! To put on my tiara, my stylist styled my hair half way through, put my tiara in, and then finished it, making sure it was in there nice and pretty!  My veil was my mother’s and it matched my dress perfectly!

Next week, I will be giving you the details on the makeup so stayed tuned by subscribing to Fierce!

 In the meantime, check out these cool stories from April!

Three Tips on Being Fashionably “Green” For Earth Month

Beauty Guru Review: Having a Blast with Covergirl’s Smokey Shadow Blast!

Fierce Accessories: The Spring Collection from Avon

Photos courtesy of all my girls who took a million pictures on my day!! Thanks girly friends!

Leave a comment

Leave a comment

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 881 other subscribers
  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!