Bloggers Do It Better: Welcome to Prep School

Whoo hoo!  Another Bloggers Do It Better challenge and this time I feel a whole lot better about taking on the challenge. This time we’re raiding our boyfriend’s/husband’s/brother’s closets to re-create our version of the preppy trend.  A few pieces we had to incorporate a tie, a vest, and/or a blazer.  All week I’ve been racking my brain trying to figure out what to wear!  I’ve never been the preppy kinda girl.  I don’t even own a blazer (Gasp!  OMG! I know!)  Then as I was laying in bed watching Top Model Wednesday night and it hit me!   A fashion epiphany!

The whole outfit came together around my husband’s tie.  I love this tie!  The colors are so posh and elegant and my husband looks so awesome in it!  I also stole borrowed one of his button-down white shirts which I was shocked fit so perfectly.  His blazer though was a big a too big so I couldn’t use it.  But I did have a gray vest and the pencil skirt was given, because I’m always rocking pants.  Now the shoes are the highest pair I own (around 4 inches) and I’ve had this shoes for years!  I bought them at an outlet shoe store in Seacaucus, NJ and they are one of my favorite pair of shoes.  Only problem – I can only last maybe an hour or so in them!  I’ve only worn them twice and both were sit down dinners!  So I had to rock them – they rarely come out of my closet!

Prep School Look

Men's Tie

Fashion Glasses

Ya’ll, after chatting with my girl Krystle on Twitter, I just couldn’t resist the Fedora!

Black Fedora

White Button Down Shirt – Puritan

Stripped Tie – Georgio

Gray Vest – JCPenny

Pencil Skirt – Worthington

Shoes – New Twist

Fedora – Wet Seal

 

A special thank you to Kristina’s video on how to tie a tie!  Life Saver!

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. ibid.

     /  June 22, 2011

    I know I’m late but just had to say how much I love this look!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 22, 2011

      You are soo not late! Thank you so much! This has quickly become one of my faves! 🙂

      Reply
  2. I always like your outfits. That gray vest is so cute. You have a beautiful smile. The ones where you are messing around reading are really cute. I’d love to see a better backdrop but it was probably raining where you were too (I had to use the stairs!)
    I’d love it if you would stop by and see how a 45+ year old handles “Prep School”—you might find something to smile about anyway! See you there! http://stillblondeafteralltheseyears.com/2011/05/menswear-american-prep-outfits-modeled-by-women-over-45-bloggers-do-it-better/

    We have $75 Dress GIveaway on our right hand sidebar. Win something for yourself!
    The Chief Blonde

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  May 23, 2011

      Thank you!! I wish I had a better background too! I had to take these when I got off of work and by then it starts getting dark outside. Also too, I live in the South and is down right hot outside! You melt in seconds! LOL

      I’ll definitely head over and check you out! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Ahhhh!!! I love this look, girl!! You look fabulous, and the fedora is haute with this!! 🙂 Those shoes sure are sexy, too!! WOWWWW!!!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  May 23, 2011

      Thank you girl!! I soo wish I could wear these shoes out though! LOL

      Reply
  4. I love the grey vest!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  May 20, 2011

      Thank you! I almost forgot I had it! It was buried in my closet! LOL

      Reply
  5. Great job! I like how you tucked the tie into the vest. I would have never thought to do that.

    Prissy

    Reply
  6. Great job with the challenge I love your tie!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  May 20, 2011

      Thank you!! My husband has officially lost this tie to me! 🙂

      Reply
  7. my fave look that you’ve worn, hands down! loooove the tie 😀 so cute hon, you did good for this challenge

    Vonnie
    http://www.socialitedreams.com/

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  May 20, 2011

      Girl thank you!! I had a lot of fun with this one and I discovered a brand new outfit that I wouldn’t even think of putting together! My husband already knows that his shirt and tie has officially been jacked! LOL

      Reply

Leave a comment

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 881 other subscribers
  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!