Friend Friday: Life of a Fashion Blogger

I Love Fashion Button

Photo courtesy of: Polyvore.com

Happy Friday Ladies!

I’m so psyched for this weekend!  I have some cool stuff planned and….I don’t have to work, which is always a reason to celebrate the weekend! LOL.

This FBFF we are talking about how our approach towards fashion has changed since we started blogging.  I know I’ve done a complete 180 since I started blogging and hadn’t really noticed until I went back to the photos of me before I started blogging.  I’ve become so much more daring with style overall, feeling confident enough to try new things, developing new favorites (and obsessions!) along the way!

 
Since you began blogging do you notice a change in the types of things you gravitate towards while shopping?

Since I started blogging I noticed a huge change in how I approached beauty and fashion.  Before I never really paid attention to trends or tried anything new, though I was tired of the same old thing.  Heck, I didn’t even wear makeup! LOL.  Now that I’ve started blogging, I’m gravitating towards things I have never experienced before and it’s so exciting!  I’m checking out things I swore I would never do, like leopard prints and floral anything!  The makeup aisle is a dangerous place for me now, looking at the newest colors and products that I haven’t tried yet!  I feel like a little kid because nothing is off limits to me now and I get excited to find things and experience things I would never have done otherwise if I hadn’t started blogging.

 
Do you find, as a fashion blogger, that you dress differently from your family and friends? Do they comment on that?

I am dressing a lot differently than I used to, trying out new types of clothing and closet remixes and my family and my friends absolutely love it!  I’ve kinda turned into the neighborhood fashion consultant, getting invited to go on shopping trips with my mom and sister and getting emails from friends who need ideas on what to wear.  Before I was like the last person you would call (I mean I lived in t-shirts and jeans! LOL) and I’m catching up to a lot of my fashionable besties!

 
What’s the weirdest fashion that you secretly like, even if you aren’t bold enough to wear it?

I don’t know if this would be considered weird, but I guess it might be if you don’t know me personally.  I am a huge history/sci-fi/fantasy fan (I also blog about it too)!  Movies/shows like Lord of the Rings, Game of Thrones, and the Tudors make me just as happy as a runway show!  So I would love to wear an Elizabethan styled dress, cape, corset and all!  I love the gowns, I love the hair, and just the overall elegance of it all.  Those bad boys are pretty expensive if you want them authentic, but maybe one day I could wear on to a Renaissance festival or something like that!

The Tudors Anne Boleyn

Photo courtesy of: deslacouture.blogspot.com

Looking at current trends – what would you like to try but need to build up the courage to do?

Honestly, the fear of trying out trends is practically out the window now since I did the 30×30 earlier this year as well as fashion memes like Bloggers Do It Better that I’ve been participating in.  So far I’ve worn all white, sported my husband’s tie, and wore a bright neon dress not once but twice! That alone is out there for me and I love it!  As a matter of fact I styled my favorite pair of pink PJ’s over on Loudmouth’s Slumber Party post today, which goes to show you that my courage has come a long way!

I think if there is any trend that I really and truly want to embrace right now is the vintage trend (and the blogger that has officially gotten me on that train is mentioned in the next question!).  I got a taste of it with this beauty look but I’m ready to go all the way baby.  I also got a glimpse of the Mad Men collection from Banana Republic yesterday and that sealed the deal – vintage and I were meant to be!

Bannana Republic Mad Men Collection

Banana Republic's Mad Men Collection. Photo Courtesy of: nymag.com

Toot someone’s horn – what fashion blogger out there inspires you with her bold fashion choices?

I discovered Vintage Vandalizm this past Wednesday when she was on the life IFB Chat.  I thought her stories were very interesting and her vintage inspired outfit was fab! But when I went on her blog, her outfits are A-Mazing!  All I wanted to do was get myself an entire outfit that was pin-up worthy!  I absolutely love her style and it has really inspired me to try something new!

What say you fellow bloggers?  How has your approach to fashion changed since you started blogging?  For my non-blogging readers, has visiting fashion blogs inspire you to try something new?

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. I love both the Elizabethan and Mad Men style dressing! Secretly, I would like to try both of these fashions, but I think one is more accessible than the other! haha 😀

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 29, 2011

      That is soo true! I think Mad Men style is definitely more accessible than the other – though there’s always Halloween (and Renaissance festivals!) 🙂

      Reply
  2. The Bloggers Do It Better challenge sounds cool – think I might have to check it out 🙂

    Reply
  3. I was excited to discover Vintage Vanadlizm too…she’s authentic, brazen, and GORGE!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 24, 2011

      Yes! And not only that, she’s from my hometown Queens NYC too! 😉

      Reply
  4. “So I would love to wear an Elizabethan styled dress, cape, corset and all! I love the gowns, I love the hair, and just the overall elegance of it all.”

    Me too!!!

    Reply
  5. I so agree with you!! I discovered Vintage Vandalizm recently too, and she has a killer blog!!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 24, 2011

      It’s soo awesome!! I’m ready to get vintage shopping like yesterday! LOL

      Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 24, 2011

      She does!! Got totally inspired by her work!

      Reply
  6. Loved your answers! It’s so interesting seeing myself and other bloggers grow and change over time 🙂

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 24, 2011

      Thank you! It is awesome to see other bloggers grow into their own! Very inspiring!

      Reply
  7. I just read a post from you on Shine… I’m impressed. What a beautiful, strong and fabulous soul you are! We need more strong young women like you who can be a voice for all who are NOT a size 0 (who wants to be a size 0 anyway?)… I’ll be back to visit again!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 24, 2011

      Wow, thank you soo very much! I’m so flattered! I think there is a place for all shapes and sizes in fashion and it’s up to us to help mainstream fashion realize that! 🙂

      Reply
  8. That Mad Men collection looks great! Can’t wait to see how you style those pieces. You really rocked the BDIB preppy look – that’s something I’d struggle with. I like how blogging (or joining group challenges, at least) gets us out of our comfort zones.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 24, 2011

      Thank you! I had soo much fun with the BDIB challenge and I do love the fact that blogging does take us to new and exciting places. I didn’t even really realize that until very recently! 🙂

      Reply
  9. YES! Friend for me: leopard and Game of Thrones! hehe

    Reply
  10. i love that you are inspired by the Tudors, I adore Anne Boleyn. good post, nice to see you stepping out the box and blossoming since blogging.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  June 24, 2011

      I think she was the best wife Henry ever had! LOL.

      Thank you Vonnie!

      Reply

Leave a comment

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 881 other subscribers
  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!