Forcing Myself to Take a Mini Break…

It’s times like this where my Type-A, overachiever-ness is biting me in the butt.  I really do suffer from superwoman syndrome, thinking I can do it all.  It takes me almost frying my brain to oblivion to realize I need a break.

As bloggers we all try to maintain that Blog Life/Real life balance.  Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t, and one of them has to take a back seat.  As much as I love, love, LOVE writing period, my Real Life is on a real fast, totally exciting, yet super stressfull roller coaster right now and the writing has to take a back seat, at least for the week.  I struggled last week trying to do it all and today I’m happy that I can spell my name! LOL. 

So ladies I’m taking time off this week from all of my writing (which I haven’t done in a really long time!)

If you didn’t know, I write posts regularly for other blogs besides this one:

Visual Adjectives: I’m the social media manager for this small press publishing company and their blog is my baby!  I designed it and launched earlier this year and I write TV, Movie, and Book News and Reviews as well as give my two cents on writing

Yahoo! Shine:  After this post, you probably already knew about this one and since then I hadn’t let that experience keep me away!

I’m also taking a step back from writing my first  novel Damaris (I would be writing gibberish at this point and I want to save my editor’s red ink this week!).

 

Enjoy the links ladies and I should be back in business next week!

 

Photo courtesy of:  mnmeditations.files.wordpress.com

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. ibid.

     /  August 12, 2011

    It’s important to take breathers and rejuvenate. I enjoy your writing and wish you a relaxing mini-break.

    Reply
  2. I did that before and after my holiday. It felt great, because I came back to a full on work load. Enjoy your holiday dear. -xx

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  August 15, 2011

      Coming back to full work load is right but I missed it so it’s all good! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Wow! you ARE superwoman – that’s a lot of projects on the go – no wonder you need a holiday. Enjoy your break!

    Reply
  4. Darling enjoy your break…you know I know how important it is to take care of ourselves.

    Veronica

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  August 8, 2011

      Thank you! Yes, I’m trying to silence the workaholic in me though!

      Reply
  5. Margaret you are a true gem! Enjoy your break! Love you! xoxo

    Reply
  6. Oh MJ. Miss you ! lol hope you’re enjoying your break. When you’re break I have a question for you about Shyne.

    Reply
  7. Sometimes a break is all you need. Enjoy!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  August 8, 2011

      Thank you! Yes, I really needed it. I haven’t taken one in a really long time

      Reply
  8. I totally had to take a step back too. I maintained some kind of semblance of posting but really had not been active in blog life for the last 2 weeks…be kind to yourself is what I kept saying. I had a large work project and was working long days, plus visitors, then my dad came to town, and of course my poor boyfriend who I actually did not even see at all last week.

    Take your break girl!!! Be kind to yourself. Hugs ❤

    P.S- I did not know you did all that!!!!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  August 8, 2011

      LOL! Sometimes I look at it and I”m like “Geesh why do I do so much!” But I love it all and wouldn’t trade it for the world!

      Reply
  9. Enjoy! I’ve had to step back a bit too. It’s good to!

    Reply
  10. Enjoy your break, girlie!! It’s always good to take one. When you get back, we need to plan a get together!!! Miss you!!

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 881 other subscribers
  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!