Fierce OOTD: For the Love of Hip Hop

Hip Hop Clothing

If I had to name one of my biggest creative inspirations, it would be music.  It can put a smile on face, make me nostaligic, and help me get through a rough day.  Whether I’m writing or driving to work I have to have my music blasting and hip hop is one of my first loves. 

South Pole Jeans for Women

Notorious B.I.G Shirt

{Notorious B.I.G shirt: Kenneth David; Black Jeans: South Pole; Sneakers: Reebok; Sparkle Hoop Earrings: Payless; Flower chain necklace: Forever 21; Jeweled Bracelet: JCPenny; Bling Black Shades: Thrifted}

I guess its the New Yorker in me because when I hear those 808 beats and the down to earth lyrics, it brings me right back to the City.  The energy of the streets, the bustle of the people,  the art in the skyscrapers.  Rappers like Jay Z, Biggie, and Nas always know how to capture that in their lyrics.  Hip Hop music also captures the different faces of life – the good times, the bad, and the downright ugly. 

For the outfit post I dug up one of my old Biggie T-shirts, racking my brain on how to style it.  A few years ago I was strictly a T-shirt and jeans kinda girl but my style is has changed quite a bit. I wanted to still channel my inner tom boy while keeping true to my aesthetic now. So while watching a rerun of Project Runway I caught the designer bug (which really doesn’t happen that often!) and decided to cut the shirt so it would hang off the shoulder.  I thought it would be a cool way to give the T a more feminine look.  I started cutting away, praying that I didn’t jack up this shirt (DIY is not one of my strong suits!)  I think it came out okay especially when I decided to wear a cami underneath so I didn’t show too much skin.

Black Sunglasses

Sidenote, I found a new summer style for my almost natural hair. I’ve been doing cold rod sets which makes my hair look a lot shorter, more uniform, and a little more frizz control than my usual wash and gos. I still get to rock my headbands and scarves so it’s all good!

 

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Great shades!

    Reply
  2. Girl you look gorgeous! I love that attitude photo of you (the last one).

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  July 13, 2011

      Thank you! 🙂

      I would suggest this park for our next photo shoot (it’s in Boca) but those mosquitos tore me up! LOL

      Reply
  3. I love what you did with the t shirt – customised t shirts are the best! I’ve never really listened to hip hop but I was interested to read this ” Hip Hop music also captures the different faces of life – the good times, the bad, and the downright ugly.” A flamenco dancer who lived in New York once told me Hip hop and flamenco have a lot in common and I went huh? But now I see why!

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  July 12, 2011

      Really?? Now you have made me curious to listen to flamenco music! I know I love watching people dance it! They have so much passion and feeling!

      Reply
  4. Hey Fierce, you are really rocking this outfit. It fits you to the last. Good to hear you are going natural. I’ve been nappy for three years now. Welcome to nappy world.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  July 12, 2011

      Thank you! It’s a real adjustment but I am having fun along the way! 🙂

      Reply
  5. oh, I was gonna ask if you got a haircut. Looks fabulous 🙂

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  July 11, 2011

      LOL! Thank you! I love the fact that the rods makes it look like my hair is short without cutting it! A cool way to switch things up!

      Reply
  6. That last pic was all fierceness! You are glowing and your hair is looking good! Love the whole hip hop vibe.

    Reply
    • MJ

       /  July 11, 2011

      Thank you!! I wanted to step out my style box and do something different! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment

  • Facebook TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle-Plus
  • Blog Disclosure

    The advice and reviews of this blog are solely the opinions and experiences of the writer, MJ, unless otherwise specified. Products being reviewed have been obtained via free samples from featured companies unless otherwise stated.
  • Categories

  • The Fiercest Posts

  • Keep up with all things beautiful, fashionable, and Fierce! Get the latest stories right to your inbox!

    Join 881 other subscribers
  • FIERCE Favorites

    Omi Designs

    Original Handcrafted Jewelry

    PIP250x250

  • Brands I Love

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • A Proud Member Of:

    >iFabbo

  • What We’re Talking About!

    Tiffany on Fabulous Fashion from Zoe…
    MJ on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    FASHION TALES on 5 Great Last Minute Halloween…
    MJ on Want To Go Pro? 4 Things You N…
    Nadia Marie on Fierce Natural Hair: Long and…
  • Catch Up on What you Missed!